We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful SPA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Mainz last weekend. Enjoyed the experience a lot. Especially the SPA. Very nice swimming pool, hot tub and saunas. Also the breakfasts were quite delicious. Good variety of fresh squeezed juices, a lot of fruit and freshly made omelettes.
The rooms are a bit small and not as new. The bathrooms are big and well designed. We got the room with beautiful River view. It is nice to wake up in the Morning looking at Sunrise.
The service was very good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review, recording your last stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your time at Hyatt Regency Mainz that much. I will share your compliments with the kitchen and the service stuff as well.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel last summer and enjoyed our stay. It is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist areas of Mainz. The hotel itself is very modern -- it incorporates an old armory building and is very visually appealing. We had a great view of the Rhine from our room. The staff was also friendly and accommodating. We stayed here on points, so I am not able to comment on the value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at Hyatt Regency Mainz.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed by the design of the hotel and the hospitality of our staff.
I hope to welcome you back soon and once again thank you for your comment.

Kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I feel compelled to finally write a proper review of the Hyatt Regency Mainz. My husband is a 2-million-miler with Delta (adn that's not counting his miles or status on other airlines) -- so he has been around the world and stayed in many hotels. Yes, he has stayed in some very exclusive and luxury hotels -- but as far as we are concerned, the Hyatt Mainz is one of our very favorite hotels! We have been coming to the Hyatt Regency Mainz since 2002. We are always warmly welcomed as return guests -- the front desk remembers us, year after year. Service is impeccable and friendly; lobby is gorgeous; location is unrivaled (directly on the Rhine). Bathrooms are, indeed, very spacious. Rooms - though nice and in good shape -- could use some updating (they have had the same decor since 2002). The pool and gym areas are large and bright-- and there are also spa services available. Bike rental available around the corner from independent purveyor; Rhine cruise boats (daily cruises) dock just outside the hotel; access to old town is across the street. And I beg to differ with some of the reviewers: there is a LOT to see in Mainz! The old town, Cathedral, and Guttenberg Museum. There is a fantastic Saturday open market on the main square. St. Stephen's (on the hill) is home to an amazing array of Chagall windows. And Mainz is situated on the Rhine: go wine-tasting!!!!
Food is pricey in restaurant but reflects honestly the quality of ingredients, care of preparation and great service.. Ditto for breakfast (I've also lived in Paris, and the croissants and breakfast pastries here are as good as some of the best in Paris) but best for brunch, when you can definitely benefit from the copious and delicious offereings and made-to-order omelettes, pancakes, etc.. Wine garden outdoors is wonderful -- again excellent food at a reasonable price -- and with view of the Rhine! The bar also offers good cocktails and "bar food", and on Fridays, entertainment. We have heard some great jazz here and were able to enjoy a great evening with our teen sons in a fantastic atmosphere!
We lived in Germany for many years (11), and again for many summers (7), due to my husband's job. We continue to visit every summer, so i'd say we known Germany pretty well. One thing we do every year is end our trip at the Hyatt Regency Mainz! We always upgrade to the Club Floor -- and I must disagree with one of the more recent reviewers who complained about the Club Floor. It's true that food is not available all day long, but the non-alcoholic drinks and coffee are (and the coffee machine is excellent -- and I am very fussy about my coffee!) as is yoghurt.. An enhanced continental breakfast is served 7-10 am -- quality ingredients all (fresh-pressed juices, delicious breakfast pastries, lachs, salamis, cheese, fresh bread, jam, etc, yoghurt and cereals-- and if you want eggs, they will order them up from the kitchen at no extra cost. there is coffee and cake ( a german tradition) in the afternoons (at least on week-ends) and from 6-8 pm there is an excellent 'cocktail hour" with appetizers that are copious enough that our teenage boys have actually made a meal of them! The wine selection is limited -- but serves only the best from the region. We love the Club Floor and feel it is well worth the price to upgrade. Having stayed in other hotel club floors, I can only emphasize how much better the quality is here compared to American hotels!
One more thing: The staff always remembers that our wedding anniversary is usually within days of our annual July stay, and they always leave us some treats and a card and usually a bottle of their superb sparkling wine in our room. I call that EXCELLENT service!
Thank you again to all the staff at the Hyatt Regency Mainz. It is always one of the highlights of our summer travel! Can't wait to visit again in July!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor -- Upgrade to the "Rhine View" -- it is SO worth it! Even on gray, ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berlinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for having taken the time and effort to comment on your stays with Hyatt Regency Mainz. I was delighted to learn that you so much have been enjoying your stays with us and keep gladly returning with your husband to our hotel.
Above all, we were extremely pleased to read that you were impressed with the service our associates provided. Your very kind comments about our staff are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team. Additionally, we were very delighted to read how much you enjoyed our food and beverage offers and the atmosphere on the Hyatt Regency Club Floor as well as in our restaurant. Certainly your very kind words were forwarded to the team. Please rest assured that positive words like yours have a motivating impact and it is a real pleasure to spread them.
Again, many thanks for your encouraging feedback and I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Mainz in the near future.

With kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just came back from a couple of nights at the hyatt regency in Mainz. Good points: lobby is lovely, staff are helpful, bathrooms big and great showers, and the bedrooms are lovely too. Bad points: Under no circumstances be sold the "regency club" level option. We were sold this when we arrived and if like me you are thinking "oooo club level, with it's own floor and special pass to let you access it in the lift, and free drinks and snacks - that'll be lovely and swanky" think again! It's basically a small doctors waiting room with a small fridge with a couple of bottles of soft drinks in it and a vending machine of coffee flavoured water! Horrid! The snacks are only there for one hour a day and they mean one hour! Not even nuts which you get for free in the bar downstairs. Massive disappointment for the price, there aren't even staff in there to serve you. Breakfast was nice but massively overpriced. It's a nice enough hotel, the lobby has a bit of wow factor but it isn't a patch on proper luxury hotels.

Room Tip: do NOT upgrade to club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonobrowMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

I would like to thank you very much for your comments and apologize for the fact that you were not satisfied with our Regency Club Lounge.
This is of course not the impression we want you to leave our hotel with. For your information, snacks are served daily from 6pm to 8pm, whereas breakfast is open from 7am to 11am. During the snack hours, a variety of alcoholic beverages is served in addition to the variety of soft drinks we serve throughout the day.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was one of the best among many other hotels around the world that i've stayed in....and ofcourse...and the choices of fresh juices...not the ones from the packaging....also bakery choices....excellent.....not to forget to mentioned the Bratwurts and other.....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank bobo852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I would like to thank you very much for you positive comments.
It is a great complement to our breakfast kitchen. Please rest assured that positive words like yours have such a motivating impact and it is a real pleasure to spread them.
Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a late review as our stay was in Nov last year. I made the trip with family for an event at the nearby convention center. Not much too see in Mainz but it was a nice, quiet and relaxing weekend and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. I thought the design aspect of the hotel was quite cool and the location was really good. Right next to the river. It was nice to able to take walks along the riverside and enjoy the scenery. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. We had big windows in our room facing right out to the river. The breakfast buffet was excellent with many good choices. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a very positive experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of your last stay in November.
I was delighted to read that you were able to enjoy your weekend trip with your family and your very kind comments about our staff, the hotel’s location and the breakfast are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team.
So once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon.

with kind regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here about 5 times now for business, I have always found my stay to be of high standard, the staff are all very helpful and welcoming. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the River Rhine from your room, I was lucky enough to watch the sunrise over the Rhine from my bed - beautiful! The breakfast is delicious (but pricey) with a selection of just about everything you could want. In the summer they sometimes have BBQs in the outside area overlooking the River. The hotel is within very close walking distance to the main town centre. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santanicop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz.
I am delighted to read that you liked the breakfast and appreciated the warm welcome you received from all the staff.
Right now the hotel is waiting for summer so that it can open its Rheintöchter Terrasse and provide BBQs for guests.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,150 reviews
5.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
737 reviews
1 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#12 of 41 in Mainz
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mainz

Address: Templerstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#1 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £108 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mainz 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Rhine, our Mainz hotel is close to the Old Town (Altstadt) and Mainz city centre, with most iconic attractions within walking distance. Hyatt Regency Mainz is only 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Congress Centre and has excellent connections to Frankfurt International Airport (25 minutes), to Mainz railway station and nearby motorways. The location in the central Rhein-Main region of Germany makes Hyatt Regency Mainz one of the preferred city hotels and destination for vineyard tours around Rheingau and Rheinhessen areas. Club Olympus Spa & Fitness is a Mainz wellness and fitness club catering to both body and mind, featuring the latest in fitness and training equipment. Recreation facilities include an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath. A variety of exclusive massage and cosmetic treatments are available, providing our Mainz hotel guests with the ultimate in relaxation. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our several renowned Mainz restaurants, including Bellpepper Restaurant with international delicacies and M-Lounge, which specialises in sandwiches, burgers, light snacks and homemade cakes. Enjoy barbecued delicacies and a stunning view of the Rhine River on the lovely Rheintochter Terrasse. Our Kanzel beer garden, offering grilled snacks and refreshing beverages, invites you to delight in the summer months under shady trees on the banks of the river Rhine. The Malakoff Bar, with its Hofgarten courtyard, provides the perfect Mainz bar setting in which to spend the evening. Enjoy a stylish yet elegant atmosphere with an abundance of cocktail specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mainz Hotel Mainz
Hyatt Mainz
Mainz Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing