We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We picked this hotel because we were flying into Frankfurt and wanted to take the K-D Line ferry down the Rhine the next morning. We arrived on a Saturday and noted at at least two wedding parties. This hotel is on the Rhine, a short walk from the K-D line dock and is connected to some castle ruins. The staff e-mailed me before our arrival and I e-mailed back with some questions which they helpfully and promptly answered. We walked to the hotel from the train station as we took a train from Frankfurt and the walk to the hotel takes you through the old town part of Mainz. We had dinner at a small wine bar with excellent food modestly priced a few blocks from the hotel. There was a huge selections of restaurants to choose from. Walking around town it was rare to hear something other German spoken (unless, of course, you asked a question in English) and this made us think that Mainz was a good town to see some of Germany.
As to airport access from Frankfurt, there are frequent trains at little cost. The train ride is maybe half an hour. However, there is a giant cluster mess at the train station at the airport with foreigners trying to use the ticket vending machines. The machines were apparently not taking credit cards, at least for short trips, and the machines were not accepting bills larger than 10 Euros, at least for short trips. This was not explained so there were perplexed tourists clogging up the machines. It took us at least half an hour to figure this out and get our tickets.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear cruiser25,

many thanks for your great words about your visit in Mainz. I am happy to read that you stayed at the Hyatt Regency Mainz last weekend and you enjoyed the hotel location and design. You are absolutly correct, Mainz is a great town to experience Germany - it has its beautiful vineyards and wine festivals in autumn and lovely Christmas markets in winter time.
We truly hope that this wasn’t your last stay in Mainz and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    253
    49
    19
    4
See reviews for
127
336
77
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
151 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Loved the location (in the center, with a stunning view over the river). Rooms are great, staff is perfect. The underground parking is expensive but very convient. Regency lounge is small but food/wine choice is very nice and the staff very pleasant.
The bar is perfect, very well know in town, cocktails are just... amazing. Congrats!

Room Tip: They did the "minimal" upgrade for a diamond, but even the "standards" rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Bubbles_please,

first of all I would like to thank you for your effort to let us know about your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel,close to the Old Town of Mainz, as well as your room. Furthermore, your very kind words concerning our Malakoff Bar are very much appreciated. Please rest assured that your feedback will be forwarded to the bar team as well as all other associates. It gives us great motivation to continue our service efforts.

I do sincerely hope that we will have you back with us in the very near future and stay

with warm regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Modern, great interior design, very helpful staff, beautiful views over river with riverside terrace restaurant, strongly recommend. They even reached out to us by email in advance to check our requirements. We used it as a final stopover before flying from Frankfurt airport. Would do that again any time. Only 20 mins drive from airport and a far better choice than the 'airport' hotels.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Edward C,

thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Mainz.
I was delighted to find out that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were pleased with the attentiveness of our associates.
Please be certain that your kind words will be shared with the entire team and that we would be thrilled to welcome you back in Mainz and especially at the Hyatt Regency Mainz.

Best regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked an overnight for our 10th anniversary, and we were not disappointed. I booked their "romantic night" with a bottle of champagne in the room, breakfast, and late checkout. From the moment we arrived I knew I had chosen the perfect venue for a nice and romantic visit for my wife. The staff instinctively knew this was a special reservation and managed to keep the champagne surprise a secret, while my wife was enjoying a relaxing massage in the in house spa I visited the hotel bar where I met Martin, who turned out to be a master cocktail mixer! Feel free to test his expertise by requesting obscure classic cocktails, he will not disappoint! I do have a few suggestions to improve the stay:
The smokers cabin is small and uncomfortable, the bar is large enough to incorporate an enclosed smoking area that does not interfere with the other guests. Damn the weather, give guests the choice of dining or sitting outside for breakfast or just for relaxing. Breakfast is excellent but the eggs to order with only two omelet pans slows down service, provide scrambled eggs along with the rest of the wonderful buffet. I can't say enough about the location, directly on the Rhine river with a very short walk to the Mainz Cathedral, the Gutenberg museum and the pedestrian zone with its endless selection of shopping establishments and historic architecture. It is a high end hotel, but well worth the expense.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the river view is truly lovely. Also, the in house restaurant is staffed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glentbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear glentbest,

thank you so much for your inspirational and constructive feedback. I was delighted to find out that you and your wife enjoyed celebrating your 10th anniversary so much with us and made use of most of the hotel facilities, such as the spa, restaurant and bar. Please rest assured, that I will forward your compliments to Martin and share your kind words with the entire team. It means a lot to us that we met your expectations, especially as you stayed with us celebrating such a beautiful occasion.

Again, congratulations to both of you and I hope to welcome you back with us in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

....having to take our flight from Frankfurt was the reason that made us choose Mainz ( which is only 30 minutes away by train ) as the final destination of our trip to the Beautiful Black Forest region......Hyatt Regency seemed to be the perfect place to stay as it is located right on the Rhine promenade .We stayed there for two nights and we got a room facing the river which was comfortable and modern with a very big T.V ,mini bar and a coffee kettle .The view from the bed was feautiful. The hotel is very modern and the open kitchen Bellpepper restaurant is great. We had dinner outside watching the full moon and we were also very pleased with the buffet breakfast which is so rich with a big variety of everything. Another thing which we enjoyed was having a swimming in the indoor pool and a jagguzi , while outside was raining heavily....The old town is only a few minutes walk which is another asset of this hotel ..Hyatt is the right place to stay if you want to visit Wiesbaden town , which is also very close to Mainz ......so for all the above I would definitely reccomend it !

Room Tip: ....rooms facing the Rhine is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annarosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind words about your visit in Mainz. I am delighted to read that you stayed at the Hyatt Regency Mainz during your trip and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you so much for mentioning so positively our rooms, restaurant and spa-facilities. As we place great value on the comfort and wellbeing of our guests, I really appreciate your words because true feedback is the only way we can monitor and improve our performance.

We truly hope that this wasn’t your last stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel, great location, great city! We had a less than 5 minute walk from the train station and were warmly greeted upon check-in. Beautiful room with a truly spectacular bathroom and many impressive amenities. The hotel is pretty much right on the Rhine River and is right along the river walk that is fantastic. A few minutes walk away is the Altstadt where there are many places to eat, shop and people watch. Lots of fun. The Mainz Dom is nearby, as is the Gutenberg Museum. We would definitely return to this wonderful hotel in this amazing city. Wish we would've had more time to explore!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susi135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for having taken the time and effort to review your stay after your visit at Hyatt Regency Mainz. I was delighted to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and your positive evaluation and comments, especially about our hospitality are so very much appreciated and have been happily shared with our entire team.

We hope, you had a marvellous time in Mainz and that you and your family enjoyed some of the things the Altstadt has to offer.

Again, your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

I do sincerely hope that we will have you back with us in the very near future and then maybe for longer than one night.

Kindest regards,

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently visited Mainz and stayed at the hotel for two nights. We arrived earlier than check in time and we were accommodated in a room by our specs-river view and twin beds. Very friendly and efficient staff, very comfortable room with a beautiful view. The hotel is close to most of the tourist attractions and very convenient for walks or running along the river.
We had a dinner at the Bellpepper Restaurant in the Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised that they had a vegetarian menu. For starter I had a Falafel and for main course Baked sweet potato. My daughter opted for Melon and cucumber salad and Spring rolls stuffed with goat cheese, eggplant and herbs as main course. Both choices were very good and the wine which our waitress recommended really complimented the food.
I would recommend the hotel for the convenient location, comfortable rooms and excellent service both in the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto_Steenbeek_HRM, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mainz, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time and effort to review your stay at Hyatt Regency Mainz on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and your positive evaluation and comments, especially about the hospitality attitude of our employees are so very much appreciated and have been happily shared with our entire team.

Furthermore I was pleased to learn that you valued our offer of vegetarian dishes at the Restaurant Bellpepper. That you enjoyed every single one of your choices as well as the recommended wine fills me with joy.

Thank you so much for reaching out and sharing your recent experiences with us. Your feedback is of tremendous value to us all and your evaluation will form an important part of our ongoing program to continuously monitor the quality of our services and facilities.

I do sincerely hope that we will have you back with us in the very near future and stay

With warm regards

Otto Steenbeek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mainz

Property: Hyatt Regency Mainz
Address: Templerstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#1 Business Hotel in Mainz
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Mainz 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the River Rhine, our Mainz hotel is close to the Old Town (Altstadt) and Mainz city centre, with most iconic attractions within walking distance. Hyatt Regency Mainz is only 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Congress Centre and has excellent connections to Frankfurt International Airport (25 minutes), to Mainz railway station and nearby motorways. The location in the central Rhein-Main region of Germany makes Hyatt Regency Mainz one of the preferred city hotels and destination for vineyard tours around Rheingau and Rheinhessen areas. Club Olympus Spa & Fitness is a Mainz wellness and fitness club catering to both body and mind, featuring the latest in fitness and training equipment. Recreation facilities include an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and steam bath. A variety of exclusive massage and cosmetic treatments are available, providing our Mainz hotel guests with the ultimate in relaxation. Sample delicious cuisine at one of our several renowned Mainz restaurants, including Bellpepper Restaurant with international delicacies and M-Lounge, which specialises in sandwiches, burgers, light snacks and homemade cakes. Enjoy barbecued delicacies and a stunning view of the Rhine River on the lovely Rheintochter Terrasse. Our Kanzel beer garden, offering grilled snacks and refreshing beverages, invites you to delight in the summer months under shady trees on the banks of the river Rhine. The Malakoff Bar, with its Hofgarten courtyard, provides the perfect Mainz bar setting in which to spend the evening. Enjoy a stylish yet elegant atmosphere with an abundance of cocktail specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mainz Hotel Mainz
Hyatt Mainz
Mainz Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing