We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions and would not stay anywhere else in Mainz. I lived in Mainz for a year when I studied at the University so often go back with friends to revisit the old haunts and catch up with friends. Staying here, you can walk to pretty much anywhere in Mainz and is great for walks along the Rhine, wandering through the old town, visiting the Cathedral, the nightlife or even for the train station if you are planning to go on day trips.

The hotel itself is more than adequate. It is really clean and has everything you need for a few night's stay. It is not the most luxurious but fine if all you want is somewhere to sleep. There are loads of nice places to eat out in Mainz so I would not usually have breakfast in the hotel but I did one morning on the last visit and would say that the buffet was well worth the money.

Mainz is a great city to spend a couple of days and is also a good base to explore Frankfurt, Wiesbaden and some of the lovely places along the Rhine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna_c20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 713 reviews

An Accor traveller
geneva,il
1
Reviewed 9 February 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Frankfurt is always extremely overpriced when there are trade fairs on so we regularly stay at this hotel. Costs less than a third of anything in Frankfurt, recently renovated and only 40minutes away by train. For value for money it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesL246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry070Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Having previously stayed at more upmarket hotels here in less austere times (Novotel, Hyatt Regency), I have become accustomed to a very comfortable time in Mainz - my favorite place to stay when working in this part of Germany. I was pleasantly surprised by the Ibis, with an airy modern reception, adequately proportioned room and most importantly, a full-size bathroom (shower). Several Ibis I have stayed at recently (Heidelberg & Tours Central spring to mind) have the smallest wedge-shaped bathrooms imaginable, but this is just fine. The breakfast buffet provides adequate choice with friendly staff. The parking garage is under the hotel and very convenient. The hotel is a short (5-10 minutes) walk into the Altstadt with no shortage of bars and restaurants to choose from in very pleasant surroundings. A clean and comfortable alternative to the upmarket lodging choices in Mainz, when passing through on business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Exceptional value for money, very clean, excellent breakfast.
Will stay here again when next in Mainz

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lahti
1
Reviewed 3 November 2010

For the pre-paid price 49 € this object is very good value. Sure Ibis standard and location enough central.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,150 reviews
1 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Select Hotel Mainz
Select Hotel Mainz
#13 of 41 in Mainz
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £54 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing