We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rhine bliss” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rhine bliss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Excellent Ibis close to old town. Mainz is very picturesque and the hotel is in a good location. Typical newbuild with cleanliness as standard.
Within walking distance of all amenities and sightseeing. 5 mins from banks of the Rhine.
Onsite carpark. Nice lounge & breakfast area. Outside beer terrace.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardeer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    336
    138
    14
    7
See reviews for
74
215
78
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Clean room, functional but basic as are all Ibis. Location a little out of centre but in good area. Didnt use restaurant and chose to eat out. A nice town Mainz, was surprised. No outdoor area. For a budget hotel was good for a quick overnight stop over

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel's position as far as traffic is concerned is problematical if one likes sleeping with an open window.in a non-smoking room. We had to compromise: smoking room at the back of the hotel. All the same we did not sleep well: something to do with the synthetic filling of the duvet probably?
Your staff at the desk were most helpful and courteous. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed two nights there and was satisfied its quality except linens. They were very clean but a little bit worn out. I think it is time they replace their linens and towels even though they were okay to be used. Except that, everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here for business but would happily book here to stay on a social trip.
It's very basic and the bed (despite looking like it was a thin mattress) was incredibly comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I've had in ages! It's clean and the shower and bathroom although not flash, yet again are functional clean and not too cramped. The staff are polite and helpful and although the location may not have the prettiest views it's perfect. Cheap cheerful and good value for money. My ratings below are reflective of the hotel star grading.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLinus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Property: Ibis Mainz City
Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing