We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged Wifi”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    346
    148
    18
    8
See reviews for
76
224
78
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2012

1- the room was not ready once i arrived, tow hours delay.
2- I request double room but they gave me twin.
3- break fast was poor.
4- no facilities in the room such refrigerator, water kit, iron, ...
5- reception staff was not helpful.
6- no carts for transportation as usual.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

...which is a chain hotel without personality, but in a very, very good location for Mainz. When we arrived we discovered that the room wasn't as clean as we wished it to be, and we were promptly ushered to another room. That's positive marks: problem identified and dealt with swiftly and satisfactorily. There were no cleanliness problems with the second one and plenty of space in both. All staff we spoke with were polite and helpful.

The best parts of the hotel are the reasonable rates, helpful staff and the good location. I can't find much to fault with it but I also tend to prefer my lodging with a bit more personality. But it's an Ibis. It is what it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePortland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed on the 3rd floor at the street side, what a noise. Looks that there is actually no glass in the windows at least not from a sort which stops the noise. Rooms are small, they have the double door to the hall to stop the noise, it comes from the other side. Colleagues stayed at the other side slept like a rose. So pick your room. Breakfast is very good,

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVanHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel in March and the first thing I can say is it has a great location, just 5 minutes off the train station Römisches Theater. When i arrived I was delivered a room without being asked my preference and after I paid more than the usual rate.
I was given a noisy 1st floor room turned to the front in the smoking floor (I don't even smoke), When I asked to move they told me they were full and I had to wait to the morning to ask again, which I did not and decided to suffer my stay In the front they have a noisy road..
The room is a typical Ibis room and the staff were very nice apart from this.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to the back and if you are not a smoker stay away from the first floor. If comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great hotel, great location. mainz is a lovely town and the Ibis is a 5 minute walk away and is great for the Christmas market.
car park is underground and very secure. would reccomend this hotel, it is very clean and as Ibis hotles go this is a very very good one.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john6101953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
1.0 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Property: Ibis Mainz City
Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing