We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value.”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently stayed for 2 nights in July at the Ibis Hotel in Mainz. The hotel is located fairly close to the city center and the main sights (about a 20 min walk to the Hauptbahnhof). There are several buses that go from the hotel to the main train station. From the train station, you can take bus 61 to go the hotel (only about a 10-12 min ride). The hotel room was comfortable and had all the required amenities. The desk staff was courteous. I did not choose the breakfast option, so cannot comment on that (lots of places nearby to eat and also a Supermarket within 3 min walking distance). For the price I paid (approx. 45 Euros), this was a really great deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    345
    145
    16
    8
See reviews for
76
219
79
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Badalona, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for an exhibition in Frankfurt. The location is quite convenient (just 2 min walking distance from the train station).
Rooms are well furnished. Breakfast basic but well appointed. Wifi is somehow overcharged so ensure to buy a package with breakfast and Wifi connexion.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguelgarcialop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2012

1- the room was not ready once i arrived, tow hours delay.
2- I request double room but they gave me twin.
3- break fast was poor.
4- no facilities in the room such refrigerator, water kit, iron, ...
5- reception staff was not helpful.
6- no carts for transportation as usual.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

...which is a chain hotel without personality, but in a very, very good location for Mainz. When we arrived we discovered that the room wasn't as clean as we wished it to be, and we were promptly ushered to another room. That's positive marks: problem identified and dealt with swiftly and satisfactorily. There were no cleanliness problems with the second one and plenty of space in both. All staff we spoke with were polite and helpful.

The best parts of the hotel are the reasonable rates, helpful staff and the good location. I can't find much to fault with it but I also tend to prefer my lodging with a bit more personality. But it's an Ibis. It is what it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePortland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed on the 3rd floor at the street side, what a noise. Looks that there is actually no glass in the windows at least not from a sort which stops the noise. Rooms are small, they have the double door to the hall to stop the noise, it comes from the other side. Colleagues stayed at the other side slept like a rose. So pick your room. Breakfast is very good,

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVanHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novum Select Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Property: Ibis Mainz City
Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing