We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located modern hotel”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
slidell, la
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well located modern hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A five minute walk from the Romisches Theater train station in Mainz. this property is on the very edge of the old town. From the front of the hotel, modern Mainz, and the back narrow winding pedestrian streets. A bicycle rental is on the corner. The train station connections to Mainz are fast and less than 5 minutes. Restaurants and bars in the old town are within blocks. The staff is very helpful. We chose Mainz to have access to the river cruise. When we went to get tickets a handwritten note was on the office. We took a cellphone picture and had the staff interpret the no boats running this weekend note. We did catch a boat in Bingen. The rooms are a good size, with nice bathrooms. The elevator is efficient and larger than most European lifts. The walls are soundproof. The beds were very comfortable and the water pressure good. The halls smell smoky from previous regulations, but the property is now smoke free. The rooms have laminate flooring and new furnishings so no smoke smell lingers in the room. A large desktop provided space to spread out our belongings for our two day stay. The bar is open 24 hours and the drinks are very good and well priced. In the morning, coffee can be purchased at the bar and brought to the room for a small fee. We did have an issue with an overcharge, but an email when we returned home quickly resolved the issue and our credit card account was credited. This hotel provides a comfortable and well located base for visiting the Rhine River region.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    348
    148
    18
    8
See reviews for
76
224
78
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
431 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Second stay in Mainz, first stay at Ibis and I liked it
Single use of double room. Small bathroom but convenient enough. Hot shower. Good bed (Room 431). Breakfast is okay. Good value. Free Wifi. Parking 9 euro.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ibis Mainz is well positioned for both business and non-business travellers. The rooms are Ibis quality. Unfortunately on one of the two mornings at around 7 am the hot water was practically out. Check-in could have been better as I was offered a differently configured room to the one I had booked; it was corrected though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tototronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you like it. Go there. Everytime you can get a room. Lot of them. Close to the city centre, train station - Mainz, Römischer... There you can get train directly to Frankfurt airport (7,60 Euro).
The rooms are euro style. Just for oversleep. Nothing special. Clean, but little bit older stuff in bathroom. But was ok. Good location, atmosphere average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elblag, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We find the hotel to be a perfect choice for any kind of business trip. If we travel in the area next time we will book the hotel once more. Both service in the hotel and the rooms are of good quality compering to price .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank IZALESY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here during an overnight layover in Frankfurt. After getting off the S8 train from the airport at the Mainz Romisches Theater stop, the hotel is a quick 3 minute walk from the station and easy to find. I checked in with no issues and found a clean room. It was a bit small, but fine for just one night. I was able to walk to Old Town and have dinner and slept soundly before my early wake up to head back to the airport.

I would probably not stay here for a longer visit, but it was perfect for a quick overnight.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor if you are a light sleeper. there can be quite a bit of noise from traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDallas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
1.0 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Property: Ibis Mainz City
Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing