We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of ok”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on business and was not hugely impressed. Rooms very small and the mattress was possibly the thinnest I have ever had the misfortune to sleep (or try to sleep) on. The lack of sleep was not helped by the air conditioning creaking, rattling and groaning all the time. Then comes the lighting in the room. To say that candle light might be better would be pushing it a little but it was pretty poor. On a positive the staff were very friendly and helpful, and although the breakfast was quite pricey it was pretty good, helped by the ability to eat outside in the terrace in the sunshine, and its location is fantastic. Whilst I would stay here again there are considerably better hotels in mainz.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A good clean hotel with an excellent breakfast buffet in the morning. The room was small but well lit. It was quite clean and the hotel offered free wifi in the library and the parts of the hotel. Overall a good place to stay and close to downtown.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A five minute walk from the Romisches Theater train station in Mainz. this property is on the very edge of the old town. From the front of the hotel, modern Mainz, and the back narrow winding pedestrian streets. A bicycle rental is on the corner. The train station connections to Mainz are fast and less than 5 minutes. Restaurants and bars in the old town are within blocks. The staff is very helpful. We chose Mainz to have access to the river cruise. When we went to get tickets a handwritten note was on the office. We took a cellphone picture and had the staff interpret the no boats running this weekend note. We did catch a boat in Bingen. The rooms are a good size, with nice bathrooms. The elevator is efficient and larger than most European lifts. The walls are soundproof. The beds were very comfortable and the water pressure good. The halls smell smoky from previous regulations, but the property is now smoke free. The rooms have laminate flooring and new furnishings so no smoke smell lingers in the room. A large desktop provided space to spread out our belongings for our two day stay. The bar is open 24 hours and the drinks are very good and well priced. In the morning, coffee can be purchased at the bar and brought to the room for a small fee. We did have an issue with an overcharge, but an email when we returned home quickly resolved the issue and our credit card account was credited. This hotel provides a comfortable and well located base for visiting the Rhine River region.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Second stay in Mainz, first stay at Ibis and I liked it
Single use of double room. Small bathroom but convenient enough. Hot shower. Good bed (Room 431). Breakfast is okay. Good value. Free Wifi. Parking 9 euro.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ibis Mainz is well positioned for both business and non-business travellers. The rooms are Ibis quality. Unfortunately on one of the two mornings at around 7 am the hot water was practically out. Check-in could have been better as I was offered a differently configured room to the one I had booked; it was corrected though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tototronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you like it. Go there. Everytime you can get a room. Lot of them. Close to the city centre, train station - Mainz, Römischer... There you can get train directly to Frankfurt airport (7,60 Euro).
The rooms are euro style. Just for oversleep. Nothing special. Clean, but little bit older stuff in bathroom. But was ok. Good location, atmosphere average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We find the hotel to be a perfect choice for any kind of business trip. If we travel in the area next time we will book the hotel once more. Both service in the hotel and the rooms are of good quality compering to price .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank IZALESY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#9 of 41 in Mainz
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Select Hotel Mainz
Select Hotel Mainz
#13 of 41 in Mainz
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £54 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing