We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice suprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

I chose this hotel mainly because of it's price and availability during the Frankfurt Bookfair. I was waiting to spend two nights in a typical Ibis but the quality of our room was better than in an average Ibis: it was big enough for two plus very clean and modern -- I believe the hotel has just gone through a revamp. Underground parking cost 7.50EUR per night. Public computer in the lobby (free use of Internet). Very close to the old town. I would definately go here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakefinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    340
    141
    15
    7
See reviews for
75
215
79
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

In a great position at one end of town. Charming walk through old town to get to shopping centre. Room could not have been cleaner. The bed was excellent. We had everything we needed for one night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pazek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2009. The hotel is going through a revamp which should bring it into the 21st century. The staff there are polite and helpful plus they speak good English. There is a small bar area that is nothing special and they can provide snacks in the evening but nothing more. Breakfast is a buffet and has all the normal things including freshly prepared fruit salad.

Rooms are basic and mine smelt of cigarette smoke. There was a small desk to work from and the TV only had BBC World as an English language station.

Location wise there are quite a few restaurants within 10 minutes walk and the main shopping centre is less than 15 minutes away.

If your looking for a basic room and nothing else then this place is fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RibTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

The hotel is well located and easy to find with ample parking even for high vehilcles (up to 2m05). The reception staff were very helpful as to where a chemist would be open on a Sunday and allowed us to store our daughters medicine in their refridgerator. The room was an average Ibis size, and the cot provided was excellent – a proper cot with a proper matress not just a travel one. The rooms were cleaned, though the bathroom was qutie small...just a shower with a deep base – just enough to bath a baby in. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Cot provided
  • Disliked — A bit tired - could do with a spruce up
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2008

Nothing special, just your average modern hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Location is close to a train station, but not the main one, so its not exactly in the prime location. But still within walking distance of the center of the city. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank metros11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

We booked this hotel not knowing where it was in Mainz. We were very pleasantly surprised that it was located right next to the 'old' area of Mainz. One block down from the hotel and we would touring the old city. A great location. We parked the car in the underground parking lot went up stairs and quickly register.

The room was larger then what were we use to in Europe. Clean and had a nice view of the street in front of the hotel (Which I requested). Down the street there is a Police Station, so there were police cars with sirens on waking us up at night. I should have asked for a room in the back. Next time...

The hotel does have a public computer in the lobby with free internet. Worked well.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — To close to the Police Station
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunnar_OShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2007

We chose to make the Ibis Mainz our home base for a 3 night stay, June 30th –July 2nd. We rented a car from the Frankfurt airport with the goal of exploring the vineyards and castles along the Rhine and taking a day trip to Koblenz. The hotel is in a good location with easy access to the Autobahn. The Ibis’ parking garage was a great place to stow the car at about 5-6 Euro per night, which is a much cheaper rate than most garages in the area. It’s worth parking the car at the hotel and walking into town. Both the town center and Altstadt are only a ten minute leisurely walk from the hotel, which makes this location just fine.

The Ibis offers a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable rate. There is ample closet and shelf space, a bathroom with shower and soap dispensers, A/C, extra bedding, and television with local German programming including Eurosport, MTV, business + international news programming (no English stations). Be aware that the bathroom does not have a hairdryer. There is no mini fridge and no alarm clock – you can ask the front desk to program a wakeup call. Our room faced the street but the noise didn’t bother us.

Breakfast is available all morning but we found the bread wasn’t fresh and the value wasn’t worth the price. Instead, try Citrus, which has a huge breakfast buffet (serving both American and Continental fare) including the hot beverage of your choice. Also for cheap local eating, try the mini-mall and office space, called Malakoff Passage, located across the street (and opposite Citrus) for drinks and a good selection of snacks and larger meals.

Other hotel features include multiple German newspapers, free internet in the lobby, food and drink onsite if you need it, and an English-speaking concierge. Great location and value if you don’t mind walking a bit to get to the action.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BethTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#6 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novum Select Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Property: Ibis Mainz City
Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing