We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mainz 2011”
Review of Mainzer Hof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mainzer Hof Hotel
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mainz 2011”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have a room with a view overlooking the Rhine River. Great location short walk into centre of town. Rooms very clean and spacious. Reception very friendly and helpful, spoke English and gave us a list of town sites to visit. Wi-fi available in front reception area. Breakfast was an amazing spread and variety to choose from each day ***** Parking available at the hotel. Only downside for us there were no tea/coffee facilities in room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneRPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    25
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
15
28
1
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked this hotel as it was the cheapest one on LastMinute.com that 'looked' like it was fairly central. The central area of Mainz with all the bars and restaurants is a good 15 minutes walk away however. It's a nice walk along the river though so not really a problem.

The hotel itself is a bit of a relic of the 80s and is looking fairly tired throughout. The room was acceptable though and we had a 'river view' which had a nice big balcony over looking the river which was beautiful. Great place for a late night beer!

The only wifi is the pay-for wifi that seems to be througout Mainz and costs something ridiculous like 5 euro an hour so we didn't touch that.

Parking was very convenient as they had a car park just behind the hotel which you could use for free.

Didn't bother with breakfast so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Our room was simple, no frills. Good breakfast at the restaurant, which offers a nice view of the Rhine. We could walk several blocks to the old town sights. Luxury accommodation this wasn't, but very clean and serviceable. The front desk was friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_wang_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I´ve been there due to a business trip, so the location was great but on the other hand I´ve found kind of mosquitoes on my room but they were just bigger that didn´t help for sleep. Furthermore the smelling of the carpet has a room to improve.
The breakfast was ok and nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evitadinamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were in town for the RosenMontag Parade. The location was great for the parade. It is on the corner where the parade turns to go along the Rhine River. Having a room with a parade was nice this year because it was cold. Going inside to warm up a bit and still being able to see the parade was great. The room was large with a seating area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wksl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This hotel was immaculate, the service was excellent, and the hot buffet breakfast was well prepared with many options. The rooms overlook a charming part of the city. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.5 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schottenhof
Hotel Schottenhof
#31 of 41 in Mainz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainzer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainzer Hof Hotel

Property: Mainzer Hof Hotel
Address: Kaiserstr. 98, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mainzer Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mainzer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing