We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the price, no free wifi?”
Review of Mainzer Hof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mainzer Hof Hotel
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a solid hotel, clean, and professional. But for the relatively high price, one would think that wireless internet would be included, rather than making people pay to connect to the overpriced Telekom network.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank a_ting_lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is not new, but very cozy and clean. Old Town and railway station are not far from the hotel, about 10-15 minutes by walk. We got a room with terrace, and although, it was cold, we enjoyed the wonderful Rhein river view. The breakfast is good enough for 5 euro. Wireless Internet is not free, but also not so expensive. Staff is very responsive. We had so much questions during our stay and they were always so helpful. Lovely place to stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 119Sabina_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting our son who is studying at the university for a year. This hotel is ok. It is clean, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is similar to that found in other hotels in Germany. We had a lovely riverside view from our second floor room. Although of no real concern to us, the tv in the room should be in a museum! Unfortunately the wifi connection appears to be unusable due to low bandwidth. Do check if this is an issue for you, as they may well have sorted it out by now.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pauljewell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Located close to the River and about 10 min walk from the railway station, the location is good. The rooms are small, musty and in need of renovation. The wifi is not free, although it is cheap. Breakfast is basic but of reasonable quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ylvalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ours was a flying visit so it really was just a one night bed and breakfast.

Location was OK - about 12 minutes from the station and 20 minutes from the Dom. Crucially for us it was a 20 minute flat walk to the ferry station for our boat to Cologne
The rooms were OK and we did have a view of the Rhine from our room. Breakfast was adequate.
The one bog plus was the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. She even apologised for the high room rate when we checked out.
This was an alright overnight, but at a high room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a Rhine view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Walking into the lobby the hotel looks like a higher class hotel than it actually is. Rooms are large and clean but are dated. The location of the hotel is really close to the Rhine and about a 10 minute walk from the KD Rhine boat tour. It's about a 15 minute walk from the Central train station in Mainz. Breakfast is good and included; no air conditioning. If you arrive at night there isn't a whole lot around that remains open that late so be sure that if you want food that you get it before you arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The room of the same category are too different from each other. I have been there for business with some other colleagues, we all booked a single room, but we received very different treatments. My room was tiny, no air conditioned, single bed. Others got a very big room (3 times mine) with double bed and air conditioned and they were - obviously - pretty happy of that. So I guess you need to be lucky, or maybe explicitly ask for what you are looking for when reserving a room.
Internet is not included and you pay one fee for each device you want to use. The staff was quite unfriendly.
On the other hand the breakfast was good, the location is great - just next to the riverside, awesome in summer - and the bus stop is just in front.
Overall it was not a bad experience, but I would not go back there: I think that for the same price you can find a better accommodation in Mainz.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vv89793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moguntia
Hotel Moguntia
#37 of 41 in Mainz
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tripinn Bristol Hotel
Tripinn Bristol Hotel
#16 of 41 in Mainz
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Select Hotel Mainz
Select Hotel Mainz
#13 of 41 in Mainz
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainzer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainzer Hof Hotel

Address: Kaiserstr. 98, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £56 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mainzer Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mainzer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing