We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for city centre hotel”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The room was large and clean and the staff attentive. The breakfast was ok and sufficent. I don't know why they don't serve food and drink during the day-evening time. Obviously they are concentrating on the accomodation only. It is no frills but hey who is going to argue for a good nights sleep for 2 at €75! Only problem is parking. Unless you have luck you will need to park in a garage near by as there are very few spaces around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarzangav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

The good: big room with AC, positioned right across the main train station, very helpful staff, decent breakfast

The bad: small bathroom, weird people hanging out around the train station, a guy was peeing on a tree right in front of the hotel at 6 a.m. ( but this is not the hotel fault I guess)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skymile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in the Königshof for a second time, also having been there last year. The hotel itself is very well situated in Mainz being only about 100m from the main station.The rooms themselves are well furnished and comfortable. Strangely enough the room has both wlan and air conditioning but in order for these things to work, you have to go to reception to ask for these services to be switched on! (their use is free of charge).the breakfast was not the best. Although we had breakfast about half an hour before the end, things were becoming scarce. I think the young girl who had to clear the dishes had had a bad night because I have never seen anyone more miserable! All in all however we found the hotel stay pleasant and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed here for five nights in July 2011 for a workshop hosted by MPI-Mainz at the Landesmusem. The front desk staff were incredibly friendly. They were always cheery, no matter what time of day I was there. They speak flawless English, but were kind enough to let me (an American) blunder through attempts to speak to them in German. The rooms were decently-size, and the hotel was very quiet, despite being directly across from the main train station, I had no problems with noise at all. The breakfast buffet was ample and had food to please both Americans (scrambled eggs and Kellog's corn flakes) as well as more traditional German breakfast foods (the delicious German rolls and multigrain bread, red currant jam). My only two complaints were that you cannot take your key with you when you go out for the day (though the front desk is staffed 24 hours a day so it's not a big deal) and that you have to get a new internet code every 12 hours. Internet is free, but it was a little bit of a pain.

Bottom line: If I am ever back in Mainz, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emwaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed here over the weekend of the 11th of June 2011 before transferring to the Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung while working at the Johannes Gutenberg Universität. The hotel is situated within the main city, 2minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof (main railway station). It provided me with a convenient base to explore the sights of the city, such as the historic Dom, the Roman architecture, the Rhein and the surrounding towns, before moving closer to the University. The room was clean and suitable, though a little small, and without amenities such as a tea tray. There was, however, free wireless internet. The bed was comfortable, but there was some annoying outside traffic noises (mostly during the day), which may disturb jet-lag sufferers. Nevertheless, the breakfast was excellent (that bacon!!), and there are several nearby shops and supermarkets. One needs to walk further into town to be able to find a good restaurant, though, which seemed a little inconvenient. There is a small, economical Italian restaurant close by, but other than that most food places are kebab/fast food places near or within the train station. I had a good streak of weather in June, so it is well worth walking around the city.
The staff within the hotel are very polite and helpful, and I had no difficulty obtaining information and directions. The hotel staff were also able to help me by speaking English when I had a complicated question to ask, and mostly responded to me, an Australian, in English anyway.
In sum, it's a good stop-over hotel. But I would find it inconvenient to spend more than a few nights here, simply due to lack of some important resources, and convenient restaurants. It was spotlessly clean, though!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

OK bed. Tiny bath. Not the least bit charming or interesting. Decent breakfast. Inexpensive. Annoying metal room keys. Friendly reception. Good location next to train station.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Excellent choice for the night before the flight from Frankfurt . A short train trip from the airport. Warm rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, reasonable rates. Try the Donner Kebab next door for an inexpensive and delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxhoundCharlesXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#7 of 41 in Mainz
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
552 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Schottstr. 1 - 5, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £73 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing