We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel at Train Station”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We selected this hotel based on its location near the train station for an early departure to Frankfurt Airport. It could not have been more convenient across the Bahnhof Plaza. The room was spacious with 2 rooms and bathroom for a triple room.

Breakfast was included in room rate and included a huge array of eggs, BACON, cereals, breads, yogurt, fruit, and usual drinks. Since we were catching an early train, breakfast starting at 6:30 worked well for us.

Room Tip: I should have paid better attention to the other reviews mentioning the steps and not focused on the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Koenigshof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is on the other side of the square outside the main station in Mainz. Excellent access for Frankfurt airport. Staff are very friendly and the breakfast buffet is superb. Rooms are normal European size for budget conscious travelers. Clean and comfortable, but noisy if on the front side overlooking the square.

Prices for rooms are very variable. We paid €56 (booked thru eDreams and then bookings.com) going, but €83 on the way back after reserving directly. Granted the return trip room was on the quieter back side of the hotel and a little larger. Still good value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel overlooking the square.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a perfectly nice, though not luxurious hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel in mid May while visiting our son and his family who live near Mainz.
Nice and clean and the staff friendly and helpful.
2nd floor had three steps in the hall to get to our room which made handling heavy a suitcase awkward.
Bad sewage smell when we first entered the room which dissipated after the windows were opened. Smell returned sometimes if the windows were closed.
Very sound proof to outside noise but some loud guests could be heard in the hallway during the night.
Breakfast was included and very good.
Air conditioning is available if required.

Room Tip: Beware of steps in hallways if carrying heavy suitcases.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel, and I will definitely stay there again the next time I visit Mainz. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is very good (not exceptional, but very good). The location is extremely convenient, just across from the train station. And the room I stayed in was very quiet. The room was also very clean and had been well maintained.

The only slight negatives were that the bed was not that comfortable (it was ok, but managed to be both slightly too firm and a bit saggy at the same time) and the room was pretty small, though that's to be expected.

All in all, I think this is a great hotel, and I definitely recommend it!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Koenigshof for two non-consecutive nights in October 2011. I looked for a place close to the train station, an easy walk to the KD Boat dock, reasonably priced and also an establishment at which we could leave some luggage as we hiked on the Rheinsteig for 4 days. The Koenighof fit the bill in all regards. Location is right across from the train station, the hotel desk clerk provided a map and directions to the boat dock (easy 15 minute walk) and our luggage was waiting for us when we returned. The rooms were typical of older European hotel rooms,pretty basic but adequate size with wc and shower, clean with brightly lit bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was fine and included hot milk (which made my tea drinking husband's day!). The hotel seemed not as fancy as the more business class hotel that appears to share the same building, but it was about 40 euro cheaper per night, and more than adequate for our needs. And the wireless was free! Be aware that because of the location near the train station, there is extra noise and groups of people on the street at night. But the advantage of the proximity is also that we were able to pop into the train station for a take out cup of tea/cappuccino at night or a cold bottle of beer. There is also a grocery store right around the corner. This is also a great location for getting to the Frankfurt airport as there are several trains per hour that stop at the Flgh, either regional or IC, the trip takes about 20 to 25 minutes. Overall, a good choice for us and we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the street for a quieter night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairfax28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The location was perfect for train travel since the hotel is right across the street from the station. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a nice cabinet for hanging clothes but no drawers for storage of clothing and other items. The reception desk staff was very helpful, friendly (especially the night attendant), and open 24 hrs. There was a good selection for breakfast and it was very tasty. Our only complaint was the noise from the platz/street below during the night. We were on the third floor but heard loud yelling and singing from below. We had a window that was off track and didn't close properly. Be sure the windows will close tight before you crawl into bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the platz/street. If you can't get that, be sure to check that your windows...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#9 of 41 in Mainz
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#19 of 41 in Mainz
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Schottstr. 1 - 5, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £73 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing