We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient good value”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and our return visit did not disappoint. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and a short walk to the Altstadt and the Rhine River. The included wifi performed flawlessly and the breakfast was good with lots of options in a pleasant breakfast room. Staff was pleasant and always eager to help. The room was a good size and cleaned every day. No disappointments at this hotel which provides an excellent base for exploring the charming town of Mainz or for quick easy access by train to the Frankfurt Airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasquatch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is right across the road from the railway station, making it very convenient to use as a base for exploring the area and as a first stop from arriving in Frankfurt - as well as visiting the Mainz Christmas market and cathedral, we used the hotel as a base to visit Wiesbaden and the Rüdesheim market. Despite having a first floor room overlooking the street, the room was very quiet and (once we figured out we could control the radiators ourselves) it was nice and toasty warm despite being -7C outside at midday!

We found the staff unfailingly friendly and happy to speak English, the breakfast was of limited range but all very good. Our room was large with a comfortable bed (two singles pushed together) and cosy bedding. I had only two small gripes - the lifts don't stop at all floors, and despite asking for a non-smoking room, ours smelled faintly of smoke. The bathroom was also generously sized and clean, with strong hot water pressure.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Yes, this hotel is convenient, located across the street from the train station, so it was easy to get to the airport. I would rather have stayed somewhere else and taken a taxi. The staff was not very friendly and the elevator was weird, stopping at half floors so you have to haul your luggage up and down a half flight of stairs. There is one grim wall decoration on the stairs of an aerial photo of the city after it was bombed by the Allies. Please.
This is the Middle Eastern part of the city so there are plenty of small restaurants selling kabobs, etc. and there is an internet cafe 1 block away but it was dirty and creepy so we didn't feel like entering in personal information for checking in for our flight home. There is a decent coffee house across the street which was nice, and the train station had a nice variety of good, clean restaurants.
We requested and were told we had a non-smoking room. It smelled badly of smoke, as did the hallway. It was on the 2nd floor near the elevator. The room was clean and the carpet was new but the drapes and walls smelled awful. We complained but they just said it was a non-smoking room and they didn't offer to switch. If we had known how bad it was going to be we would have demanded a room change. The bathroom shower was gross. The pillows were very flimsy and uncomfortable.
The breakfast room was shabby in places and badly in need of an upgrade. Breakfast itself was decent.
The area around the hotel was filled with litter and we saw broken glass. We had to turn on the fan in the middle of the night because of noise from the area below.
I would not recommend this hotel and Mainz itself was a disappointment except for the Mainz Cathedral where we went to Mass. We were disappointed that the other church, St. Stephan's was closed. We wanted to see the Chagall windows. The medieval town of Limburg is much more charming.
I am disappointed that this hotel had a 2012 Trip Advisor Sticker at the entrance. I would recommend that it be removed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

From the front of the railway station you will seen the Konigshof but do not worry: I never heard any trains during my stay. Reception staff were very polite and helpful. My bedroom was well furnished and had a television with at least two English channels: the internet connection was very reliable. Breakfast was excellent. My room overlooked the square in front of the railway
Reception and you could hear passing pedestrians but my sleep was not disturbed. Reception recommended a nearby cycle hire shop where I rented a well equipped machine for a day's cycle ride in the countryside. I liked the hotel and would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianfromKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We are a young couple with a baby

Staff was rude and un-helpful.
The room was nice and big- very high ceiling! I love it!

FYI- elevator stops every other floor (there are "half-floors") and so if you are traveling with a baby or something of that sort- you'll have a very hard time getting around the hotel.

The hotel is situated across the street from the main train station and you can only imagine the noise and the type of characters walking around there.

I wouldn't come back... but then again it was one of the cheapest rooms we found near the center.

Room Tip: try to take a room that does not face the main road. maybe it can help bring the noise level down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Three of us shared a corner triple room facing the street for 3 nights in 3rd week of September. Chose the hotel for its close proximity to the railway station which was right across the road. Staff were very friendly and courteous. The main problem was with the aircon which turned off during the night. Contacted reception and we advised that the temperature outside was too cold for the aircon to run and too cool the room down we had to open the windows. This then allowed the loud street noise from the people and cars to flow into the room making it quite difficult to sleep.

Happened again on the 2nd night and reception gave the same story again however I insisted that the room was quite uncomfortable to sleep in. The aircon was eventually turned back on which made me think that it was being controlled by reception during the night on a timer.

The bed pillows were extremely soft as well. We had to use 2 & 3 pillows to obtain a degree of firmness. Otherwise the room & bathroom were very clean and comfortable and the free wireless internet excellent.

Room Tip: Probably request a room that does not front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Four of us stayed in two rooms at the this hotel for one night in September. We chose it mainly because of its close location to the station. We landed at Franfurt airport at 7.20 pm & were heading for St Goar the next morning, so needed a hotel close to the trains. The Koenigshof certainly fitted the bill. - a two minute walk from the station, lovely clean, quiet rooms & good breakfast. Hotel also had a lift. All emails prior to our holiday were answered promptly & staff were very helpful while we were there. Lots of places nearby to eat, as well,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
322 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
568 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Schottenhof
Hotel Schottenhof
#21 of 41 in Mainz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Schottstr. 1 - 5, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £72 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing