We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location in Mainz”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Location in Mainz”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I chose this hotel as we were travelling by train with a child and needed to get to Frankfurt Airport the next day for a midday flight. This hotel ticked all the boxes. I have stayed in Mainz several times as it is easy to get to the airport by train from there but the first time at this hotel. I will stay here again next time. It was an easy flat walk into the old city. The room was clean and bright and looked out over the square. The lift went to between floors but that was not a big problem. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Paul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    140
    56
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
86
42
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is directly across the platz from the main train station and is a great alternative to the extremely high priced hotels at the Frankfurt Airport. There are plenty of trains to the airport leaving frequently and taking only 20 minutes for the trip. The hotel is also near the public transportation stop in front of the train station and the hotel provides you with a pass good for the public trams and buses. The staff was extremely nice, friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very nice and the place was spotless. There is an elevator. My room was quiet, clean with a very comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Parking is in a parking garage behind the hotel if you need it, but there are also places in front of the hotel to unload and load your bags. Very good bargain.

Room Tip: There is an interior courtyard and rooms facing it may be the quietest, but noise was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel is a very pleasant one indeed, and the genrally favourable comments indicate this. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. As for the rooms, always clean, free wifi, quiet and comfy beds. The only reason its not 4-5 out of 5 are as extra facilities are missing (shower instead of bath, no minibar, rooms don't contain an iron/safe) and the hot breakfast options are limited to eggs. However, it is a budget hotel, so if it's frills you want, you need to be somewhere else. For under €80/£70 this hotel is fine, a safe bet, comfortable and very handy for trains/taxis. Also, the central location means good eateries nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Company_Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
713 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Here for a meeting overnight

It's a great location near the station and all the good places to eat .Considering where I is it is quite and when you are in your room peaceful yes it's dated but not a hotel with plastic atmosphere or dry eating just good old fashioned comfort !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and our return visit did not disappoint. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and a short walk to the Altstadt and the Rhine River. The included wifi performed flawlessly and the breakfast was good with lots of options in a pleasant breakfast room. Staff was pleasant and always eager to help. The room was a good size and cleaned every day. No disappointments at this hotel which provides an excellent base for exploring the charming town of Mainz or for quick easy access by train to the Frankfurt Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasquatch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is right across the road from the railway station, making it very convenient to use as a base for exploring the area and as a first stop from arriving in Frankfurt - as well as visiting the Mainz Christmas market and cathedral, we used the hotel as a base to visit Wiesbaden and the Rüdesheim market. Despite having a first floor room overlooking the street, the room was very quiet and (once we figured out we could control the radiators ourselves) it was nice and toasty warm despite being -7C outside at midday!

We found the staff unfailingly friendly and happy to speak English, the breakfast was of limited range but all very good. Our room was large with a comfortable bed (two singles pushed together) and cosy bedding. I had only two small gripes - the lifts don't stop at all floors, and despite asking for a non-smoking room, ours smelled faintly of smoke. The bathroom was also generously sized and clean, with strong hot water pressure.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Yes, this hotel is convenient, located across the street from the train station, so it was easy to get to the airport. I would rather have stayed somewhere else and taken a taxi. The staff was not very friendly and the elevator was weird, stopping at half floors so you have to haul your luggage up and down a half flight of stairs. There is one grim wall decoration on the stairs of an aerial photo of the city after it was bombed by the Allies. Please.
This is the Middle Eastern part of the city so there are plenty of small restaurants selling kabobs, etc. and there is an internet cafe 1 block away but it was dirty and creepy so we didn't feel like entering in personal information for checking in for our flight home. There is a decent coffee house across the street which was nice, and the train station had a nice variety of good, clean restaurants.
We requested and were told we had a non-smoking room. It smelled badly of smoke, as did the hallway. It was on the 2nd floor near the elevator. The room was clean and the carpet was new but the drapes and walls smelled awful. We complained but they just said it was a non-smoking room and they didn't offer to switch. If we had known how bad it was going to be we would have demanded a room change. The bathroom shower was gross. The pillows were very flimsy and uncomfortable.
The breakfast room was shabby in places and badly in need of an upgrade. Breakfast itself was decent.
The area around the hotel was filled with litter and we saw broken glass. We had to turn on the fan in the middle of the night because of noise from the area below.
I would not recommend this hotel and Mainz itself was a disappointment except for the Mainz Cathedral where we went to Mass. We were disappointed that the other church, St. Stephan's was closed. We wanted to see the Chagall windows. The medieval town of Limburg is much more charming.
I am disappointed that this hotel had a 2012 Trip Advisor Sticker at the entrance. I would recommend that it be removed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Property: Hotel Koenigshof
Address: Schottstr. 1 - 5, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing