We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As ever first class mid range hotel”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Here we are again for our fourth trip and as good as ever

On arrival we re known so well this time we were given treats - not for us but to feed the dog! He is just a beauty . The staff also know us well and welcome us like old friends

Clean , friendly and a good sleep - why would we want more?

Room Tip: Not on the fro t of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

I chose this hotel as we were travelling by train with a child and needed to get to Frankfurt Airport the next day for a midday flight. This hotel ticked all the boxes. I have stayed in Mainz several times as it is easy to get to the airport by train from there but the first time at this hotel. I will stay here again next time. It was an easy flat walk into the old city. The room was clean and bright and looked out over the square. The lift went to between floors but that was not a big problem. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53Paul53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is directly across the platz from the main train station and is a great alternative to the extremely high priced hotels at the Frankfurt Airport. There are plenty of trains to the airport leaving frequently and taking only 20 minutes for the trip. The hotel is also near the public transportation stop in front of the train station and the hotel provides you with a pass good for the public trams and buses. The staff was extremely nice, friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was very nice and the place was spotless. There is an elevator. My room was quiet, clean with a very comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Parking is in a parking garage behind the hotel if you need it, but there are also places in front of the hotel to unload and load your bags. Very good bargain.

Room Tip: There is an interior courtyard and rooms facing it may be the quietest, but noise was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel is a very pleasant one indeed, and the genrally favourable comments indicate this. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. As for the rooms, always clean, free wifi, quiet and comfy beds. The only reason its not 4-5 out of 5 are as extra facilities are missing (shower instead of bath, no minibar, rooms don't contain an iron/safe) and the hot breakfast options are limited to eggs. However, it is a budget hotel, so if it's frills you want, you need to be somewhere else. For under €80/£70 this hotel is fine, a safe bet, comfortable and very handy for trains/taxis. Also, the central location means good eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Company_Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Here for a meeting overnight

It's a great location near the station and all the good places to eat .Considering where I is it is quite and when you are in your room peaceful yes it's dated but not a hotel with plastic atmosphere or dry eating just good old fashioned comfort !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and our return visit did not disappoint. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and a short walk to the Altstadt and the Rhine River. The included wifi performed flawlessly and the breakfast was good with lots of options in a pleasant breakfast room. Staff was pleasant and always eager to help. The room was a good size and cleaned every day. No disappointments at this hotel which provides an excellent base for exploring the charming town of Mainz or for quick easy access by train to the Frankfurt Airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasquatch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is right across the road from the railway station, making it very convenient to use as a base for exploring the area and as a first stop from arriving in Frankfurt - as well as visiting the Mainz Christmas market and cathedral, we used the hotel as a base to visit Wiesbaden and the Rüdesheim market. Despite having a first floor room overlooking the street, the room was very quiet and (once we figured out we could control the radiators ourselves) it was nice and toasty warm despite being -7C outside at midday!

We found the staff unfailingly friendly and happy to speak English, the breakfast was of limited range but all very good. Our room was large with a comfortable bed (two singles pushed together) and cosy bedding. I had only two small gripes - the lifts don't stop at all floors, and despite asking for a non-smoking room, ours smelled faintly of smoke. The bathroom was also generously sized and clean, with strong hot water pressure.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
326 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Schottenhof
Hotel Schottenhof
#21 of 41 in Mainz
74 reviews
0 mi away
AC Hotel Mainz
AC Hotel Mainz
#12 of 41 in Mainz
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Schottstr. 1 - 5, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £65 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigshof 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing