We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel at a very decent price and it is close to the train station”
Review of Novotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Mainz
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a very decent price and it is close to the train station”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My colleagues from Germany recommended this hotel apparently they use on the project when they travel to Mainz, it is literally few min walk from good restaurants, Beer gardens and river cruise terminals. The rooms are cozy and the internet connection is fast. Breakfast buffet is very good choices and the area is well maintained and the food is refilled very frequently. The bar and the coffee area are small but plentiful. The staff is very friendly and very helpful and most of them speak English. I checked in early between 9:00 -9:30 AM after I landed in Frankfurt and the hotel accommodated me without an issue. The Taxi was bout 45 Euros from the big airport.

Room Tip: I liked the high floor room as you can open the windows and see the city views + I think the upper r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Ravi K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    310
    164
    23
    14
See reviews for
124
211
63
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel was one of the few chains where I could find a room with an occupancy limit above the usual 3 people, which is rather incovenient limit for my family of 4.

The family suite room was spacious, efficiently cleaned every day and the beds were some of the most comfortable I have tried.

The buffet breakfast was good and had a lot of variety.

I had requested an early check in to rest after our transatlantic flight to Frankfurt, and I was very happy the hotel was able to provide that.

The location close to the train station is very convenient. There is a short and somewhat steep climb to get to the hotel, but I found it very manageable in good weather.

The only thing that is a little unusual is that the hotel doesn´t have its own parking garage, and instead the underground parking is a city parking that costs 12 euros per night. I would have the hotel to have a special overnight parking rate for its guests. but that isn´t the case.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Francisco G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here twice in the same week, June 4 and 7, 2012. Great hotel and staff, excellent breakfast. After leaving this hotel, my next stop was Berlin. When I got there I realized I left my plug converter in the room at the Novotel. I sent them an email, and when I got back on June 7 they had my converter waiting for me at the front desk. Terrific service. If I ever go to Mainz again, this is where I will stay. Hotel is within walking distance of the train station, but it is uphill all the way and the sidewalks are mostly cobblestone. Save the wear and tear on you suitcase wheels and take a cab.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Rod571,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schijndel nl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

very nice place to stay! good breakfast! large nice room and bathroom!
more then 100 staircases to go to the city of Mainz, good for your condition!
friendly staff! quiet envirnment!
parking nearby the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olifant_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear olifant_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just a short taxi ride from Mainz railway station, this hotel is well placed for a short walk into the lovely town of Mainz.

The room is fine, bed is comfortable and the room clean, if a little spartan. I enjoyed my stay here but service can sometimes be a little slow, especially if you are looking for refreshments in the bar area. Breakfast was great and reception staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear JDbluesky,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed last weekend for three nights. Its a bit difficult to find in all the 1 way streets and you arrive at the turn in for the car park before the hotel but its signposted so keep your eyes peeled. The car park is charged at 1.5 euros per hour up to a max of 12 euros per day. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon and were checked in without much hassle, the staff were always friendly. I must say the staff in the restaurant always smiled and were very pleasant. The room was a large executive room for us and the 2 kids who slept on a sofa bed. The only problem being they didnt make up the bed the first night, but we phoned to reception and they brought up all the bedding. The room had tea and coffee facilities which were replenished as we used them. Another slight issue was the frosted glass toilet door, which doesn't shade the light from coming into the room, so you may have to go in the dark ! The breakfasts were brilliant and i would highly recommend it, buffet with hot and cold. cereal, cold meats, pastries everything you could want. Also the kids get a small toy as a gift.

Room Tip: we booked an executive room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Dundeetripper,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mainz

Property: Novotel Mainz
Address: Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#6 Business Hotel in Mainz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Mainz is located in the central and peaceful historical area "Auf dem Kästrich", just a few minutes' walk from Mainz city center. Modern architecture and a heritage-protected vault dating back to the 17th century create a charming contrast in the hotel's interior, giving the hotel a distinctive edge. The 217 modern rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with flat-screen TV and free WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and wellness center complete with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. The 12 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. Chargeable parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing