We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to pick up on the cleanliness!”
Review of Novotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Mainz
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is a mixed bag- love the fitness center, the wi-fi, the pool, and the on-site restaurant. Some of the employees are excellent, and a couple are only so-so. However, they need to pick up the room cleanliness a bit. There was obvious body hair on the beds/mattresses and the carpets could use a refresh. Also, for some reason, the power will not charge my computer (both times I stayed there, I thought my charger was broken.) I don't know if I am the only one- it's not a big deal, but I didn't have that problem anywhere else in Europe, even in the oldest of buildings. Please, Novotel, this place could be world class, if you put just a tiny bit of effort into human resources!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catelisa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Mainz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

The place is very easy to get and the position good. The structure is recent, there is a beautiful wellness center for those who have time for it and the restaurant is of high level. The rooms are big and with all the comfort you may expect. The comparison between price and what you get is absolutely positive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemmi214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620Jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bus-travel-Bro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My friend and I stayed there in Sept for two nights. We got there late and the overnight help misinformed us that the breakfast was complimentary. When we went to check out they advised us that the breakfast was 100 euros for eating breakfast both mornings. There as no way we ate even close to our money's worth. We are two women who barely eat a bowl of cereal for breakfast. We tried to explain what we were told but the manager apologized and that was it. We also asked for a taxi to take us to the train station. We waited for more than 10 minutes and no taxi arrived. We finally went in to ask and they had to call again. Then when the next taxi arrived we got into an argument because he said he was there for another room. We were already running late for the train to get us to the Frankfort airport so we let the taxi driver go into the hotel and it was verified the taxi was for us. It was very frustrating! The Internet is not free at this hotel. It was not cheap to get it and the connection stunk. Overall, not a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel during my business trip. I'm glad to have stayed there instead of in Frankfurt itself. The town of Mainz is really lovely. The hotel is nice, clean and the staff is helpful and courteous. I had a non-smoking room, but I have to say there was a smell of smoke - not strong at all but my nose is very sensitive to smoke smell. The room size is excellent and they provide any amenities you need, even if you need slippers and bath robe. I found them very accommodating. The breakfast at the restaurant is delicious, with a big variety. The gym, pool and sauna add relaxation to the stay! The bed comfort was so so. It was kind of bouncy. If there is one issue about this hotel is the internet. The wifi is SLOW, or WAS slow at least during my stay. It was very aggravating.

The city center is cozy with lots of shops, food and drink vendors, and is scenic, etc. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Mainz Hbf. It's a straight-up walk, but a bit uphill. Honestly, it's a quick though and it's pretty safe even at late night. For sure, it makes it very convenient to get around. The S8 and RE lines go to the FRA airport from the Mainz Hbf station. It's about a 25 min ride or a bit less.

The hotel is literally a few minutes away from the city center. Surely, makes the stay enjoyable when you can just walk down to the city center. There is a residential complex right behind the hotel. Walk behind the hotel as you face the residential buildings, walk toward the left. You'll find the P sign for Parking Garage. Take the elevator all the way down and it will put you on the street level of the city center. Walk straight up in that alley, and you'll be in the city center. Surely convenient. Also, behind the hotel by the residential buildings, you will find a grocery store.

Overall excellent hotel and the location makes you feel in a nice German town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A good business style hotel. The rooms were simple, but comfortable and clean for a one night stay. We did enjoy the nice spa/pool/gym area and it more than made up for the lack of upgraded room amenities. The sauna and steam room were relaxing after a long travel day and were the highlight of our stay. The location is near the train station, about a 15 minute walk, but it is uphill!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee0232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteldirektion_H5407, Manager at Novotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Renee0232,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly
appreciated.
We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Novotel Mainz.

Yours sincerely

Rüdiger Schild
General Manager
Novotel Mainz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
307 reviews
4.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel Mainz
Atrium Hotel Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mainz

Address: Augustusstrasse 6, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mainz
#6 Business Hotel in Mainz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: £74 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Mainz is located in the central and peaceful historical area "Auf dem Kästrich", just a few minutes' walk from Mainz city center. Modern architecture and a heritage-protected vault dating back to the 17th century create a charming contrast in the hotel's interior, giving the hotel a distinctive edge. The 217 modern rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with flat-screen TV and free WIFI. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and wellness center complete with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness center. The 12 meeting rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. Chargeable parking is available in the indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mainz Hotel Mainz
Mainz Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing