We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical second choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Am Stiftswingert
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is not far from the Mainz city center as the crow flies; but buses do not take straight lines and thus staying in this hotel implies additional travel time of about 15 minutes relative to other options. (Buses, however, stop just across the street.) But if places downtown are full, this hotel is an obvious alternative. Single rooms are very small, and bathrooms in them even more so, but the staff is very friendly and the breakfast very decent. There is a grocery a stone's throw away and an Italian restaurant within the same building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This nice family-run hotel in a quiet residential area is 20 minutes walk through a nice park away from the center of Mainz. The little supermarket opposite the hotel offers everything a traveller needs. Friendly staff and a more than continental breakfast make it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hogsmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We came in exhausted and sunburned. We had gotten off the boat from Koblenz and couldn't find a taxi. This was especially difficult with an 83 grandmother with us. The staff here was the best of anywhere. The rooms were large and clean and had great WiFi. The breakfast was great. Lots of breads, fruit, meats. The only draw back was that they only had boiled eggs. This was common everywhere we went. If you are traveling by train or boat, it's about a 30 minute bus ride in traffic. 10 minutes by taxi from city center. I had to make a pharmacy run that night and they said if the buses stopped running before I came back that they would come pick me up. This place was a haven on a very hard day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed in a room for one person and the room was larger than I expected, also comfy. The neighborhood was nice and well located. However, window shades were not opening and there were no air conditioner so it was quite hot.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Semih K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is very well located in a luxurious neighbourhood , within a 15 minute walk to the old town centre and within a block of four bus lines. The staff at the reception are friendly and very helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable and offered a very quiet environment. The free breakfast offers a good choice of diverse foods and beverages to suit all tastes and is served in a pleasant setting. We will gladly return if we ever go back to Mainz again. (The adjoining restaurant was closed at the time of our visit).

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the building. The rooms are on the first or second floor and breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PdeC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just to say the Italian restaurant with the hotel does not belong to the hotel. We had a very bad experience - the waiter/owner didn't want to serve us an just ignored us while serving customers around us. The food we did get was not very good either.
We can't complain about the hotel. Staff was friendly. There are nice streets with nice old houses to see if you just want to go for an evening stroll. Breakfast was good too. No elevator if you have lots of baggage. If you are staying more than one night you can walk to the town square and the Dom - very interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

What a lovely hotel - I am so glad we chose this hotel rather than the impersonal Ibis which is quite close but twice the price! The staff are really friendly and went out of their way to make sure our bikes were safe. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Also nice quiet location but also close to centre.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.7 mi away
INNdependence Hotel
INNdependence Hotel
#5 of 41 in Mainz
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mainzer Hof Hotel
Mainzer Hof Hotel
#35 of 41 in Mainz
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Favorite Parkhotel
Favorite Parkhotel
#11 of 41 in Mainz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stiftswingert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stiftswingert

Address: Am Stiftswingert 4, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Stiftswingert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Stiftswingert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing