We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Business Hotel”
Review of Hotel Schottenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schottenhof
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Marburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Business Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was there for a 2 days.. The hotel is just across the bahnhof, there are enough car parking space just outside the hotel and if one want to sight seeing the city on foot or use the public transport is a perfect place in Mainz to stay. I had booked a single room, it had all the basic amenity in the room, but I think it was very small, the paint, design, furniture of the rooms all are very old fashioned. If you looking for a new contemporary hotel this is not the place you should be staying at. Breakfast was just fine, everything is served cold except the coffee. In all an average business hotel or budget hotel if one need to see the city on low expenses.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyDepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
6
15
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukachevo, Zakarpats'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was dissapointed by old fashioned design and really noisy rooms in the hotel. It has a horrible elevator which can carry only one person and is not funktioning very well, also I could hear in my room everytime someone has entered or exited the elevator, because the walls and doors are not keeping away the noise. You will hear eevrything what is happening on the whole floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My daughter and I traveled through Mainz Germany recently and spent one night at this Hotel. We had booked it through booking.com and I had read reviews here on Trip Advisor which were not encouraging. We were very pleased and surprised with the quality of our stay. We were able to park in the area in front of the hotel for free. Our room was spacious, very clean, and appropriately appointed. The included breakfast the next morning was typical european buffet and the quality and quantity of selections were equal to other breakfast buffets we had encountered. Our room was on the first floor and faced the street corner. We did hear people walking and passing by during the late night. The bar/restaurant at the hotel closes at midnight. We felt very safe walking to and from our evening exploring. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel based on our experience but others might want to check out any assigned room to make sure it met with satisfaction.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, facing the road. Light sleepers might want to request a different f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

The only positive for this hotel is location in terms of the main railway station. Lift is so small only 1 person plus luggage can fit in. No wifi in bedrooms. Breakfast is the bare minimum- no pastries, no cooked food, v poor quality and small quantity of cold meats/cheese etc. we paid €175 for 2 nights B/B for 2. It was worth €50 max.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona L, Berichtiger at Hotel Schottenhof, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Google Translation
Sie haben eine sehr hochwertige Tür negativ beschrieben.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

In November 2012 me and my wife were traveling to Luxembourg City, and as we were flying into Frankfurt to late to get a train onwards, we decided to stay in Mainz rather than head into Frankfurt, as I had previously visited the city and found it nice enough.
With regards to Hotel Schottenhof, location-wise it is perfect. Just directly across from the train station (Mianz HBf) and right in the heart of the action within Mainz, with plenty of bars and shops just outside the hotel.
The hotel itself is nice enough, and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel is in some REAL need of updating. The rooms are VERY basic, with beds that are long past their sell by date, and the furnature and bathroom/shower look like they have not been changed since the 1970's!
If I had to spend more than one night here I would be very unhappy, but as we were only passing through and in need of a place to sleep till our train at 10am the next morning, it would do.
Mainz is really nice and when I return, I would look elsewhere if I was planning to spend more than a night there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

It's location is unbeatable= just down the road which is bang opp Mainz HBf!
The free breakfast is FABULOUS, with a lot of variety, boiled eggs, muesli, juice; coffee, & FRESH FRUITS!
The ensuite room was excellent, large & spacious with 4 beds & spotlessly clean
The reception provides U with a map of Mainz & an event guide.
It also has a lift

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Had an amazing breakfast. Strategically located across the Mainz Hbf and you wont get stressed that you will miss the train because it is so near. Very friendly staff and pretty near my new faborite spanish bistro place Besito.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.1 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#9 of 41 in Mainz
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#8 of 41 in Mainz
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schottenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schottenhof

Property: Hotel Schottenhof
Address: Schottstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schottenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schottenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schottenhof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing