We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place”
Review of Hotel Schottenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schottenhof
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I arrived in Mainz late in the evening, and the first hotel near the train station that i went into was full, and they told me that because it was a "Messe" (convention) in Frankfurt, everything was full. I then tried the Shottenhof, and not only did they have a room, but the price was okay (about 60 Euro for a single). Room was a typical European budget room, small but clean. Fine as a place to sleep for a night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_kester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    19
    13
    11
See reviews for
6
13
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro BRASIL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Its a awesome hotel just because its location. 100 meters from the Grand Central Station, that delivery you into the city airport, and there is connection to almost every cities in Europe. Terrific, great neighborhood, and it is very well located near the big city atractions. The rooms have good confort, and they are big. The problem is that has only one elevator and in sunny seasons becomes overtraffic. The staff is very nice, they love brazilians, and treated us very nice.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa,Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The last night of our stay in Germany we still wanted to stay somewhere scenic(not by the Frankfurt airport!). So we took the train to Mainz and looked for a hotel near the train station. We needed to be close as we had to leave around 5am to get to the airport. The first two hotels were full already and the third one I saw was the Schottenhof. It had only one room left and the front desk let me look at it to make sure it was o.k. It seemed good enough as we were spending the day sightseeing and only needed the room to sleep and shower. The staff was friendly,the room was clean and the shower worked. That is all we needed and it fit the bill.

  • Liked — close to train station
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank trailblazer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

I was there for a week. First, room appeared clean, although they never have changed the bedsheets for the duration of your stay. But the 2nd night I noticed a black-bean shaped object on the wall- it was a crawling insect. After I told the front desk nobody ever said or did anything in the next 3 days. Second I am quite sure the cleaning crew are problematic. I left a brand new shaver in the drawer along with couple CDs. By the time I checked out I could not find them. I told the front desk, and again no results.
Well I guess I made a huge mistake by booking this one.

  • Liked — breakfast was OK
  • Disliked — cleaning crew, front desk receptionists
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank howfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2006

I am working in travel agency. That was terrible experience for us to make reservation to this hotel. My passenger stayed at this hotel 3 nights but nobody changed the badclothes. There is no regular hot water and narrow small and non-hygenic rooms. When i speak with reception he was so angry to me . Because i was make reservation for 5 days and my passenger stay just 3 nights and he wants his money back for 2 nights!! But they charged 5 nights to us without any explanation.
I will never offer this hotel. There is alot of hotel in this area they are not alone you have a lot of options i can say don't stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeusgalileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2006

I could not get any available reasonable hotels in Frankfurt, then I spotted Hotrel Schottenhof. It may not be the biggest hotel in the world, but it is clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The room which we had, on the top floor was very big for a double rooom, with great views. Breakfast was average, but there is a nice and friendly bar. Location could not be better, just a stones throw from the railway station, and 5 minutes to the town centre. I would love to visit again in the summer, when all of the trees are in bloom for a relaxing break. Getting to and from Frankfurt and The Airport is very easy, with brilliant train service. It is nice to be in a smaller town at evening time rather that staying in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Schottenhof looked like a nice and pleasant place, judged by the small pictures on the hotel's website. Reality was different, alas. I had the feeling of staying in a cheap rendez-vous hotel in the train station vicinity: the carpet was stained, furniture was old and used and the bathroom was, well, not exactly clean. Worst of all: walls were paper thin - it does not take a hard-hearing neighbour here to be disturbed all night by the sound of the television nextdoors. For the prices charged (somewhere around 70 euro) you should be able to find a better deal on the various hotel deal websites around.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
0.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mainzer Hof Hotel
Mainzer Hof Hotel
#35 of 41 in Mainz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schottenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schottenhof

Property: Hotel Schottenhof
Address: Schottstr. 6, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schottenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schottenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schottenhof Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing