We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect Start”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel was our first stay after arriving in Germany and we were not disappointed. We arrived by train and we were happy that it was a short walk. We were greeted with pleasant staff, and since we were pre-booked, we were checked right in. Our room was on the first floor and looked out over the street. Windows were large as was the room. It was a bit noisy, but we slept with our window open! Bathroom was updated and very spotless. Beds were comfortable. A dinner was included with our stay and we thought the food was very good. There is a nice bar and friendly wait staff. The breakfast included turned out to be the best we had during our three week trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    67
    39
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
37
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had an unpleasant stay at this hotel. The hotel was being renovated and we were put in a room that hadn't been used in a while. There was dust over the entire bed (and every surface). The bed had been used (probably by the renovators), and the towels in the bathroom had been used and put in a the corner (without being replaced). There was scaffolding up the entire front of the hotel and our balcony was obscured by it. In the morning we woke up to workman on our balcony (on about the 10th floor), via the scaffolding, so we had to have our curtains closed to have privacy. There was no discount due to the renovations and we weren't able to change rooms when we complained to reception. We liked Mainz and wanted to stay another night, so we used the 20 minutes free internet to find another hotel down the road. The only positive was that they had secure bike parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (away from the renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Simple, small but clean single room with desk and TV. Big double glazed windows which opened fully; room faced over inner 'courtyard' (roof and backs of apartment block) rather than over street so was quiet. Tiny compact bathroom with old style glass sliding door shower unit but perfect for solo overnight stay. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very impressive with plenty of hot and cold choices, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses and wide range of bakery options and each table had large flask of coffee. Very good value at €69.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent one night at this hotel last week. The receptionist (Amal --) was very unpleasant and misinformed.

The room was noisy and without air conditioning, also no free wireless.

The room was comfortable but the level of the hotel staff made it poor and we will certainly never again get back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
advena27, Geschäftsführer at Advena Europa Hotel Mainz, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
The receptionist was not unpleasant and not uninformend. She just checked according to german law the passport and found out that the visum had expired. She only did her duty. The guests knew before they checked-in that the room had no aircondition. There was 1 hour wireless-lan free of charge. As in many hotels we also charge wirless-lan after the first hour with € 3,00 for 2 hours and € 12,50 for 24 hours. This is quiet usual. We never promoted, that aircondition and wireless-lan is including the room-rate. It ist very unpleasant to call names in public appraisals, especially when they are unjustified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The front desk staff was just amazing, helping with anything we asked way more than we expected, and remembering us and asking how things went. Breakfast buffet was pretty big, several choices each in the fruit, protein, and carb areas. Eggs were always badly overcooked, but that was the only thing that wasn't great besides the apathetic waitstaff. But it's a buffet, so it just means you need to pile plates to the side.
Room was good sized and clean. Like all of Germany, there was no air flow at all in the room unless a window was open, and that let in the street noise; every night there was one to three drunk people making a racket in the alley beside the hotel. Each stay comes with 1 free hour internet connection for your computer (get password from front desk) and there's a computer in the lobby that I never had to wait for. All in all a better internet deal than most hotels in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Advena will provide wide space in thier rental appartment, but you have to take care of cleanings yourself. What i like is that you can have your own kitchenet in your room..thats great!

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NaqeebullahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

I spent 4 weeks at the Advena Hotel in January of 2007.
I changed a few rooms throughout my stay, and not once have I found a clean room. Some rooms were so small that I could reach the bathroom door from my bed. The carpets were never vacuumed, and I dreaded dropping something on the floor.
Breakfast was quite good, but my company booked half-board for the entire lenght of my stay, and the food at the bistro downstair was awful.
The reception was rude and did not like our presence as guests (there were 8 of us). I had to fight with the hotel manager b/c they assigned me a room whose varnish paint smell was nauseating.
She did not want to change my room.
It's an OK hotel if you are there only for 2-3 nights, but for a long stay in definitely unbearable. Our company rescinded the contract with them soon after that. THANKFULLY!!!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank franstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#4 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advena Europa Hotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advena Europa Hotel Mainz

Property: Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Address: Kaiserstr. 7, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Advena Europa Hotel Mainz 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Advena Europa Hotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advena Europa Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing