We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent a week here on business.Its well situated for train and amenities.Bit tired inside but the staff are helpfull,good bath ,breakfast good ,freewifi.Only downside no kettle in room.Some good bars nearby The Irishrover and the tapas outside the station.Within walking distance of river and old town.Happy hour 6 to seven 2 Euros for a large beer.On a whole acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    67
    39
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
37
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Room is clean and staff is great. Very nice food at breakfast. Localization are perfect… close to the old city, 100 meters from the main train station and 30 meters from a very nice supermarket.
There are a frigo inside the room that allows you to keep some beers and food if you want.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felipeppalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having lived in Mainz for numerous years, and travelling back and forth since then, we've tried many of the hotels available.
In Sep 2013 we stayed at the advena when we came over for a friend's wedding. Mainly because of the location and price.

Being centrally located (5 mins from train station) made it perfect for coming in from Frankfurt Airport by train.
It's also a 5 min walk to the central shopping area and restaurant zone of Mainz (if the traffic lights are favourable - you have to cross the main road - Kaiserstrasse).

Despite being directly on this road, even with the window tilted open at night we didn't hear much noise.

The rooms themselves are reasonable, nothing special, enough space, and clean, just a bit dated.

The breakfast buffet has a good variety, the coffee is standard for Mainz hotels (meaning you drink it just for the caffeine intake, not the taste). Variety of croissants, bread rolls, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses and fresh fruit salad, so something for everyone.

All in all a reasonable hotel to stay in for a few nights. Also there is free entry to the fitness centre, which is about 15 mins walk away.

Wifi does cost extra.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yilan County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hotel location is quite good that only 5min walk from Mainz Hbf.
However, when I opened mini-bar, I saw an opened cola…
I think it’s a very serious mistaken that should never happen. For this reason, I called hotel counter about the situation, but she just tell me “CALM DOWN”.
Well, I brought the opened cola to reception counter, all her respond is “This is not belonging to hotel, last customer left it!”
If I do not mistake, Advena Europa Hotel Mainz should clean the room thoroughly before I check-in. Obviously, they didn’t.
Not mention this is just a musty and small room!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Hotel is very well situated, hardly 5 minutes from the railway station by foot, and about 10-15 minutes stroll downtown. It is modern, clean, pleasant, comfortable and friendly and excellent value for money. I'd recommend it any day. Being so near the station some loud nightlife was going on outside one evening, otherwise it is quiet and very civilised. If you don't want to hear anything, ask for a room not facing the streets. But seriously, it didn't ruin anything for me. I'd have dinner somewhere else though and fortunately there's lots of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noshmonster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

its about 20 minutes walk from the boat landing stage - we came to Mainz down the river from Koblenz and to get to the hotel you can walk through the town centre of Mainz which is really nice.
We were given a nice big room which was nice and clean
Staff were really nice and friendly and helped us with directions from the boat to the hotel beforw we got to Mainz which made things a lot easier for us

Room Tip: we had a room on the main street which can be noisy with traffic sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is located just 2 blocks from the Mainz central train station and just 4-5 blocks east of the main tourist district and historic areas of the city, so it is very convenient for travelers without a car. The building probably dates from just after the war, but the current decor indicates that is was last redecorated in the 60s or 70s--lots of orange and lime green and bold stripes on carpets and drapes. It's clearly dated, but in good condition and gives the building a sense of humor. Desk staff spoke English, but not fluently, so be ready for a little miscommunication. We didn't consult them for guidance on things to do in Mainz. From the other restaurant patrons observed during breakfast, it appears the hotel is frequented by business travelers.

As others have mentioned, the room was simply furnished, with old, but serviceable furniture. There was a distinct musty smell. The bathroom has a full-sized bathtub, and there was plenty of hot water. Oddly, during a past renovation, the faucet knobs for the removed shower were simply left attached to the wall. Since they are directly above the toilet, they can't be used as hooks, and are just in the way.

The hotel website said the rooms were air conditioned, but there was no evidence in our room--only a radiator, which wasn't needed during our trip. The windows could be opened, in our case, onto a side alley. Because there was no AC, the windows needed to remain open at night, allowing street noise in. Wi-Fi was included in the cost of the room, and the desk will provide you with multiple ID/password combinations, if you are traveling with several mobile devices. The password is good for the entire stay. The room door is locked from the inside with a key, so you must remember to do this when you leave the room.

The outstanding feature of the hotel is the breakfast buffet. First, the dining room is bright, clean, and cheerfully decorated. The tables are a mixture of small ones and very large ones, and if you eat late, you may be sharing your table with others, however the room was very quiet. Wait staff bring a thermos of coffee to your table, and unlike many hotel buffets, the coffee was brewed, not Nescafe. The buffet has an extensive spread of foods--cereals, yogurts, meats, cheeses, breads, fresh fruits and juices, and some pastries. You will find something you like for breakfast. The wait staff move frequently through the room, picking up used plates.

So, by all means, not a fancy place, but a good value, and the breakfasts are superior.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchlwch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,055 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.3 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advena Europa Hotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advena Europa Hotel Mainz

Property: Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Address: Kaiserstr. 7, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Advena Europa Hotel Mainz 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Advena Europa Hotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advena Europa Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing