We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and clean”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We called to book a room - very helpful staff. The hotel is clean and basic, but great for a stopover. Nice Italian restaurant within walking distance. I would go there again. It is not in the centre of Mainz - that is about 5-10 mins away by car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljewell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    100
    71
    19
    9
See reviews for
37
80
45
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castelnaudary, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Mainz for 3 nights in January 2013. This hotel (as with most Ibis/Etap hotels) is located several kilometers from the city center and is ideally suited for car travelers. The hotel is located in an industrial park but it's only a 10 min walk to a tram line that takes you right into downtown Mainz and the train station. Ibis hotels work for me because they're usually purpose-built facilities that have many practical features you don't find in more expensive renovated hotels; lights everywhere, small ledges right next to the bed with dedicated outlets, AV in/out jacks on the TV, blackout pull-down shades, soundproof doors, free wi-fi in the rooms and vending and coffee machines in the lobby.

The king sized bed (with bunk bed over it) had a great mattress and was very comfortable. Overall room size was considerably larger than the European norm even for more expensive facilities. There is a Lidl market next door for your food needs (be aware, it only accepts cash and the German EC card system; your widely accepted European chip and pin Visa or master card debit card will not work there) The hotel accepts all forms or payment and my card was no problem. I skipped breakfast this stay as I found the €7 a bit steep for watered down coffee and bland pastries which are typical for this chain. I just grabbed some pastries next door at the Lidl and suffered the 20 min tram ride into Mainz train station and the huge Starbucks inside. (I live in France but am from California—Starbucks is still a big deal to me!)

The front desk clerks both spoke English and were friendly enough; Germans tend to be pretty formal and professional in a business environment. There is a great Italian restaurant 5 min walk from the hotel where I had a delicious authentic pizza and a couple of large beers for €13. The owner spoke only German and Italian but as I was leaving, I spoke to the hostess who speaks perfect English. She said they mainly serve locals but do get a surprising amount of tourists because of the hotel. Next door was an Asian restaurant. The desk clerk will give you a map marked with the restaurants, tram lines and stores marked on it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kens1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This hotel is now called budget ibis budget Mainz. I found the person working not friendly at all. It is far from anything nice, but it was cheap. Had no problem with wifi. Shower, TV and bed was Ok. No telephone and just a code to enter the room and building. I believe check in closes at 10 pm.

Room Tip: There is nothing to look at anywhere around so it doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyFlyFreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mainz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Driving southbound between Amsterdam,ND and The Algau Region in Germany we were glad we chose this hotel for the night. Clean, good price including breakfast and a modern concept of confort that has everything you need for a good nigths rest before going back to the autobahn...
A close-by italian restaurant reccomended by the hotel was also a good surprise.
Stayed for one night last August 24.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yagoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very helpful and friendly at the hotel. Super market next door if you wish to save a few pennies for breakfast. Not much around hotel but regular tram sdervice into city only 7 minutes walk from hotel. Free parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJOWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
645 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novum Select Hotel Mainz
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Mainz-Hechtsheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
InterCityHotel Mainz
InterCityHotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
0.6 mi away
Hotel am Hechenberg
Hotel am Hechenberg
#25 of 41 in Mainz
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim

Property: Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim
Address: Johannes-Kepler-Str. 10, 55129 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim 1*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing