We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is worth a stopover”
Review of Favorite Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Favorite Parkhotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Family owned and managed. Definitely a modern feel to to this place. Beautifully appointed and investment lavished on it. Bedroom was very comfortable with a view over the park to the River Rhine. Quiet location? Well...the downside is that although it is in a park it is within a couple of hundred yards from the rail line which did tend to be a bit noisy at night. Take some ear plugs. Dining areas are delightful as is the Biergarten out back. Town centre is a 15 minute stroll and worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Favorite Parkhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Good hotel, good, food, good beer, quiet location. Quite a big hotel which takes a wee bit of getting used to, but once you get orientated its fine. Strange bathroom with no door an window into bedroom, but quirky and didn't detract from the stay.

Room Tip: Have the breakfast - superb.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed there for the second time and would certainly return.
Had a superior room quite spacious .It is true that you can look at the bathroom from the room but I travelled " single" ! .The toilet is separate and the clost is rather small but I have seen much smaller ones in big , expensive chain hotels.
The restaurant is outstanding and the breakfast room large enough ( it depends as always of the moment ).From some rooms you need to walk a lot to reach the restaurant and the breakfast room and the indications could be more evident .The TV offered mainly german speaking canals but I had the same problem in Switzerland and in most german cities.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view and any floor above the second floor .Also try to be more in the direction of...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasquier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have to say that I was really pleased after my stay at this hotel. The location is excellent as they are not that far from the Römisches Theater train station. This is quite convenient since from Frankfurt airport you can reach this station in about 30 minutes. It could be a little tricky to find, but it helps if you have a look at the Google satellite images prior to your arrival. The lobby areas are quite nicely organized with many views of the river and the park. The cleaning standards are quite high. I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness, but I have to say that they really do a great job. The breakfast is really impressive with a great selection of dark german breads, sausages, eggs, two kinds of fish (herring and salmon), waffles, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice, fruits, nuts and dried fruit, yogurt, hams, amazing cheeses and many other things to discover every day. The breakfast room staff are very friendly and are always willing to assist you in any way they can. One of the drawbacks is that they do not have an electric tea kettle in the room and for me this is something that every hotel must offer. However, I must say that the people at the reception and at the restaurant/bar were always kind enough to provide a hot cup of tea especially in the evenings. There is nothing nearby since it is located in a park and on the other side there is a residential zone. If you explore the area on foot you might be able to find a Rewe supermarket, which is not too far. If I am ever back in Mainz, I will definitely be willing to stay at the Favorite Parkhotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains if you are light sleeper.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joule36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

lovely room (although the window above the bath between the bathroom and bedroom may not suit all) overlooking the park. the pool is rather a lounging around in pool than a swimming pool but was empty and I would have liked time to spend in it! The gym was disappointing, the gym was half a room overlooking the roof with the hot tub set in the middle of the deck (not in use in January!) but the room did not have the lights on and I could only work out how to turn on two bits of equipment and one of them was broken, so not great. liked the tropical area and walkway. Bar was cosy but underground and baking hot even in January. Wifi was very expensive and not many options

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Poor Gym and Wifi. Not a business trip hotel.
Restaurant okay, Rooms okay,
Could really do with putting some sort of a gym/leisure area.
Internet wifi was not freely available and very expensive to purchase access cards that did not give a good speed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed 5 nights in November for a business meeting! Located inside a park with beautiful garden this hotel is quit isolated from outside world. Ideal place to have a business meeting or training etc.
Rooms were standard with basic facilities. Breakfast rooms were quit compact with not enough tables if there are many guests. So you may have to share the table which was acceptable to me. There is nothing much to day than I prefer to stay in Hyatt than here~!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#2 of 41 in Mainz
1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
0.5 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
538 reviews
1.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#10 of 41 in Mainz
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Favorite Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Favorite Parkhotel

Address: Karl-Weiser-Strasse 1, 55131 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £96 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Favorite Parkhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HRS, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Favorite Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing