We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but”
Review of Select Hotel Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Hotel Mainz
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The room are big, clean and looks good. The breakfast is perfect and the service good. The only problem is that in 2013 in a business hotel you must have internet for free or at a less price then 5 euro per 30 minutes. The position is good for business traveller but if you want to visit the city is too far from the center.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank AndreaVolpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Rooms Division Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for the nice review of your stay.
For your next stay I can recommend a business package.
We have different business packages inclusive wireless lan.

Best wishes
Your Park Inn by Radisson Mainz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location: Not so bad if you have a car. Next to a McDonald's (if you don't get a breakfast inclusive rate -- McD's is way cheaper than their 19 euro breakfast option!!) Across the street is a strip mall -- with Subway, cheap chinese food, cheap sushi, Media Markt (huge warehouse sized electronics store). Convenient too find food if you're short on time.

Parking: 7 euros a night, if I remember correctly. The parking lot is right in front of the hotel. It was full on both nights I was there. When we got back at around 9pm -- there were no more parking spots.

Rooms: Basic. Nothing much to say. Good for a 1 or 2 night stay.

Beds: Not comfortable. Hard.

Service: A little "off". I had 2 rooms -- 1 room for two nights and an additional room for the second night. So on the second day -- I went to get our new keys -- and the check in lady didn't seem to understand why I was getting a new room because she thought I had checked in. She actually paused and then raised her voice at me!! I hate to say rude germans -- but I don't know what else to say. Rude woman!

Housekeeping: Did not clean one of my rooms after the first night. Even after a lady who came to check if rooms were being done saw that my room wasn't cleaned -- no one came back to clean it.

Would I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atanner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Rooms Division Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear guest,

first we want to thank you for your comment.
We are sorry about the inconvenience with your room, there was a do not disturb card at the door till around 01:00pm, because of this the housekeeping did not clean it.
You can choose our breakfast buffet for 18,00 €, if you are short on time or did not need a full buffet, you have the chance to choose a breakfast to go for 9,50 €. You can order the breakfast to go at the reception till 10:00 pm.

Best regards
Daniela Christ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having to stay here on a week's work trip, the Park Inn offered good sized comfortable clean rooms and a superb breakfast spread. Simplicity was in the decor with an open wardrobe and no bathroom toiletries provided but 2 body soap dispensers, Their mini bar was stocked well and room service was efficient. The F&B staff were extremely helpful and accommodating compared to the front desk team, who were not warm and not quite knowledgeable when 3 of our requests were not understood nor answered. The value for money for 5 nights was good. Ask for rooms facing quiet greenery.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetiemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Rooms Division Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for your nice review of the stay.
We hope to welcome you again soon

Best wishes
Your Park Inn by Radisson Mainz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel was good, it was very clean. The room i stayed in was quite and very comfortable. The staff was great. Sometimes i had to wait though before a receptionist arrived (mostly at late evenings) so a bell would be appreciated for attention.

A tip for saving money on parking and internet is to ask for the Business package. Then parking and internet for 24hours is 18 €. They also have some package with breakfast. Did not have that though.

I stayed for 4 nights in late July 2013.

Room Tip: I lived in room 122, it was very quiet and comfortable. I read some people have gotten rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niklas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Rooms Division Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Niklas ,

thanks that you took the time to review your stay at our hotel.
We welcome your comments and it was a pleasure to read your review.

We hope to welcome you again soon with us

Best wishes
Daniela
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

i stayed in this hotel when i went on a business trip to Frankfurt. The hotel is small yet clean. The rooms are very small. The room service is poor and they take ages to attend to your need.
The breakfast spread was excellent. They have everything that you can think of. The food quality was also good.
The location was good and there was a supermarket and Mc Donalds next to it. so you need not go far for buying anything basic.

Good for business trips but if you are expecting something great, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taurean-Tiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, General Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review.

We will do the Room Service for the next time in a better way.

We have reviewed the room service concept and we have changed a lot of things.

Best Regards

Bernd Richter / General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

If you drive to this hotel - its location is not so bad - it is probably easy to drop into from outside Mainz when passing by. Rooms are OK - superb duvet! Breakfast is actually very good (get an inclusive rate). Wifi is extremely overpriced though.

Room Tip: drive there - and ask for a corporate rate if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Rooms Divison Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear guest,

many thanks for your kind review.
We hope you stay again with us

Best wishes
Your Park Inn by Radisson Mainz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

If you drive to this hotel - its location is not so bad - it is probably easy to drop into from outside Mainz when passing by. Rooms are OK - superb duvet! Breakfast is actually very good (get an inclusive rate). Wifi is extremely overpriced though.

Room Tip: look out for special busness rate if you are visiting a company or university in Mainz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_QMZPD, Manager at Select Hotel Mainz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind review.

We hope you visit us again.

Best wishes from Mainz

Bernd Richter / General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
2.8 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#6 of 41 in Mainz
689 reviews
2.4 mi away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#9 of 41 in Mainz
314 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gunnewig Hotel Bristol Mainz
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Mainz Hechtsheim
2.4 mi away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Mainz

Address: Haifa-Allee 8, 55128 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range: £51 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Mainz 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Select Hotel Mainz is a modern business hotel. There are 121 rooms, all tastefully furnished and equipped with the latest amenities. The rooms have large desks, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, air conditioning, soundproofed windows, telephone, wireless Internet, safe, HDTV and satellite TV. Our comfort rooms offer additional comfort. There are professional conference rooms, a lobby bar and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing