We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Rates, Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast”

City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reasonable Rates, Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

All in all my wife and I were happy with this hotel in Mainz. The staff is very friendly, and provided some good restaurant recommendations that turned out to actually be good. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Also, I give the pillows an A+. The breakfast is nice as well - mostly cold, but eggs (both scrambled and boiled) and bacon are served as well, and was included in our room rate. The location is also a plus - just a short 5-10 minute walk from the central train station.

The only knock on this place is the internet, which is neither free of charge (we paid 4.50 EUR for 24 hours, only good for 1 device), nor very reliable (we had a lot of "connectivity" problems).

Note - our room did not have an A/C, but did have an oscillating fan.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkirsch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
17
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

During my stays at Mainz (about 5-10 times per year) I invariably stay in this hotel because its location is so central: less than 10 minute walk to the train station; supermarket a stone's throw away; pedestrian area just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is 7 EUR per person and is well-stocked for all but the fussiest. Downsides: small rooms and even smaller bathrooms; hotel in general is in need of renovation. If not that, more attention should be paid to the hygiene: linen ok, bathroom not ok. A passageway connecting two streets passes the hotel, implying round-the-clock noise if one gets a room facing the parking lot. On the other side of the building, the noise is generated by the delivery trucks to the supermarket mentioned above. WLAN should be free but is not.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors and as far away from the entrance are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My stay at the City Hotel Neubrunnenhof was for the most part pleasant. The room was small but well appointed and clean. The staff members were kindly, accommodating, and professional. The 7 euro breakfast offered the usual fresh breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, bacon, fruit, and strong coffee. The 4 euro internet featured a decently strong signal. My position on hotels and internet is that Wi-Fi should always come with the room surcharge free, but at least the fee paid for a full 24 hours. No complaints about the midtown location within walking distance of the Hauptbahnhof (but not bang up against it) and the wonderful Mainz Altstadt. The one problem is that most of the rooms look out on a parking lot surrounded by high walls. This makes for some interesting night-time acoustics. Conversations of pedestrians and mobile phone users amplify in this setting. And then there are those whose great love in life is to drink to excess and then shout. The first night at the City Hotel we were entertained by someone who rendered a ferocious impression of a crow followed by an even ghastlier impression (I mean this as praise) of a chimp. I asked the young man at the desk if he could put an end to these performances and he did so—a point in the hotel’s favor. The other two nights were generally much quieter. Now, they do have sound-dampening thermal windows and when they’re closed, you’re not apt to hear much wildlife, but in warm months you may swelter a bit. If the staff could be a little more proactive about the parking-lot-bedlam-echo-chamber issue, I could recommend this hotel quite strongly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guillaume51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here with my mother the week before Christmas 2011. The hotel is in a bit of strange area, but it is within walking distance of the train station and the main tourist area of Frankfurt. The staff were excellent, and the breakfasts were fine. The room was OK and when I was there you had to pay for WiFi. I didn't drive, but I noted there was a car park directly next to the hotel. However, you can get a bit of noise early morning coming from the car park.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpontaneousTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Good bike storage, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable room, cheap internet.
External noise - our room backed on to a loading docks in a courtyard. Trucks came and went unloading and it was very noisy. They started before 7am, therefore that was our wake up call. The bathroom was small for two people to be in there at the same time. Decent value for money.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to be at the front of the hotel. If you end up in a room that backs on to the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schottenhof
Hotel Schottenhof
#31 of 41 in Mainz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#10 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Advena Europa Hotel Mainz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TOP Hotel Hammer
TOP Hotel Hammer
#8 of 41 in Mainz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mainz City
Ibis Mainz City
#3 of 41 in Mainz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Havana
Hotel Havana
#27 of 41 in Mainz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Neubrunnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Neubrunnenhof

Property: City Hotel Neubrunnenhof
Address: Grosse Bleiche 26, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Neubrunnenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Neubrunnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing