We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If coming to Trier, stay here!”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If coming to Trier, stay here!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

An absolutely beautiful boutique hotel. The owners are absolutely amazing! After the long train journey to Trier they greet you with a drink, whatever you like! They are very helpful and accomodating.
The hotel is located an easy walk from the city centre and is just far enough to have a pleasant sleep. It has a beautiful little bar downstairs and the breakfast room is from the picture book of a princess palace. They do absolutely amazing breakfasts here.
Whilst there is no lift and only stairs to the rooms, they are all beautifully furnished with comforting and beautiful things. A relaxing turn in a journey. The bathrooms are well decked out and the place is kept well clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road in summer, as these can be quite noisy with the windows open durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    28
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the top floor in double room for 79€.
If you dont mind rosa and pink on the walls and floors (which is all over the place, but in a way not too much) its a nice place with very helpful and friendly staff/owners - and good at english.
Flaws: the shower kept swinging from cold to hot by it self and the drain didnt work properly. The double bed was firm - which is ok to me, but with a hole in the middle from tear and wear. The places is a bit loud - you can clearly hear people walk around - and pee.
If you're by car be aware there are only 6 parking spots at the hotel - otherwise it's 10€ in the nearby streets with a discount.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Europe. Location very good, very friendly and helpful owners. We were offered a welcome drink on arrival and not to forget the champagne breakfast buffet next morning, the best breakfast we had during our trip. It was also real fun watching the birds being fed in their small garden at breakfast time. A small hotel with large hospitality, we had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel and will recommend it to all our friends and family.

Mona
Paris

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Astoria Hotel in Trier on a recent trip to Germany. It was our first night after a very long day of traveling. They treated us like royalty! A welcoming cocktail at our arrival, the softest pillows, a fabulous breakfast in the morning. Our accommodations were perfect and relaxing, our hosts were welcoming in several languages. I'd defiantly stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the Astoria for one night on our way to the UK. We arrived at around 8pm, were met with smiles, a welcome drink and a reserved parking slot - essential to avoid any parking fines. The rooms we booked were very pleasant. The room was fairly small, but it was fine. The bed was firm, duvets just right - and I slept very well. The shower was fine (no bath) and no problems with the water. Wifi is free, but via a ticket and password.
Next morning, the breakfast was complete - a large buffet with table service of bread, cheese, eggs and coffee - which set us up nicely for the long trip ahead.

Friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samueldev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Astoria Dec 18-20,2011. We were treated very well on this stay. The owner was very helpful and English is spoken as the first language. The breakfast is great and is fresh. The rooms are clean. We will definitely stay here again. The Christmas market was good.
Pam and Bill

Room Tip: There is no lift, so the closer to the ground floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlin1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Both myself, my wife, and another couple stayed at the Astoria in later October, 2011. Our friends picked this hotel after doing some research. What a great place! We all walked from the train station with our luggage. It took us about 15 minutes. The owners are Sudhir and Paula. These two are truly friendly and know how to run a hotel. We were greated with glasses of champagne. After a quick check-in we went to our rooms on the 2nd floor. Since we were traveling light, this was not a problem, as the hotel does not have an elevator. Our room was a good size with a TV and wardrobe with a nice, clean bathroom. The bed was and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast is truly great. Wonderful selection of meats, cheeses,fruits and pasteries. The coffee is really good. You will be served at your table. Beautiful seting for breakfast, with an outside patio. Champagne is also served at breakfast. Very nice china and silverware. Both Sudhir and Paula and their staff really made this an enjoyable stay. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to a beautiful town square and suroundings. When we left he hotel in the morning, we wanted to thank our hosts for such a pleasant stay, but we noticed that they were busy serving breakfast, so we let the hotel. We had gone a short distance, only to hear our hosts calling us back. They wanted to thank us for staying with them and asking us how we liked their hotel. We love it. Please stay with Sudhir and Paula.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeJeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutschherrenhof
Hotel Deutschherrenhof
#34 of 49 in Trier
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paulin Hotel
Paulin Hotel
#15 of 49 in Trier
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
#22 of 49 in Trier
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bruchhausenstr. 4, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing