We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alcohol consumption not allowed rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Trier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alcohol consumption not allowed rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

A lovely hotel with an old world feel. Exellent breakfast and drinks available in the lounge. My only (minimal) quibble is that guests are asked not to consume alcohol in their rooms. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    27
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
53
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Astoria for two nights at the end of October and we were delighted. Our room was clean (the TV remote was even in a Zip-lock bag!) and comfortable. We had a front room and it was quiet. Breakfast was terrific -- in addition to a buffet of fruit, cereal, juices, etc., eggs, meat, cheese, bread, coffee, etc. were served at the table. Location is within easy walking distance from the Porta Nigra, the Marktplatz, the Dom and other major attractions. Our hosts were eager to please and helpful in providing directions and good suggestions on places to eat.
Garage parking is available at a discounted rate. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Learner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is several blocks (but still walkable) from the train station and in a much nicer area.
The Sahinis could not have been nicer or more welcoming. The entire staff was friendly and helpful.
As others have commented, the pink is everywhere, but it adds to the charm. In the public areas I was reminded of a tea room, or of a home of your genteel aunt.

My room was fine for me, even though it was a double. I had plenty of hot water in the shower. Quiet and comfortable.

The breakfast was in a sunny garden room. The tray of cheese and meats was individually served from a silver tray. A bread basket and pot of coffee on the table. On the buffet was cereal, fruit, jams and other condiments.
It makes you feel as if you are in someone's home rather than in a hotel.

Ideally located away from the pedestrian street noise, but easily reached.
I think people should make this town their headquarters while they travel in the area. A great place to spend more time. Make a day trip over to Luxembourg. Hike or bike ride along the Mosel and vineyards. Make this your base to take the train north to tour Burg Eltz. And just walk around the town of Trier. If you are there on a market day or sunny weekend, the pedestrian streets will be filled with stalls and street food. Try it all.

I highly recommend you be the guest of this lovely couple who will make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitFujian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We recently spent 4 nights in this delightful hotel. I can't say enough about the owners of this great find. The Sahinis were so accommodating to us and were very helpful in recommending restaurants for dinner each night. The champagne on arrival (after a 5 hour train ride from Hasbergen) and at breakfast each morning was a special touch. The location is excellent and we enjoyed walking all over the city while there. The Mosel is close by as well as all the Roman ruins. Trier is a charming town and we intend to visit again soon, perhaps during the Christmas market season. Our room was on the front of the hotel and it was quiet and comfortable. And, we thoroughly enjoyed the outstanding breakfast.

Room Tip: We had room No. 1 at the top of the first set of stairs, facing the front of the hotel. Street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is minute but quaint and genuinely friendly. It is located on a quiet street, just off the main drag and a few steps away from Porta Nigra. The family running the place is very nice and helpful. They greet their guests with obtrusive kindness and do pretty much everything to make you feel as contented as possible (we actually relished very much being offered a glass of champagne when arrived and also each morning, at breakfast). And, by the way, the breakfast is nothing but savory and the eating and lounge rooms are snugly arranged.

As cons, I would itemize mainly the size of the rooms (simply too small for two people with regular luggage) and also the fact that, probably due to a temporary personnel shortage, they were just not as outstandingly clean as one could expect (e.g., just having entered the room we inadvertently found some walnut husks and bread crumbs nearby the beds, etc.).

It is as well worth mentioning that the hotel seems not purported for lodging business travelers (the hosts are not up until 8.00 a.m. when the breakfast starts, so until then there’s no one at the front desk to help ; between 8 and 10 a.m. the Sahanis are just too busy serving the food to respond to urgent calls, and by 10 p.m. the front lobby remains empty and in dimness – thank God the key to your room would eventually unlock also the front door... Moreover, those interested should take heed at the fact that the hotel cannot provide cleaning / ironing services, etc.).

Notwithstanding these, the overall atmosphere is familial, warm and relaxed, hence anyone looking for blissful relaxation and/or a smooth indulgence in Trier’s charms and delights may find in Astoria a place to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The hotel is a short walk in one direction to the pedestrian-only zone of the city center where streets and streets of shops, restaurants, and historical attractions are located. It is a short walk in the opposite direction to the beautiful Moselle River. The husband and wife owners of this property are friendly, helpful, and English-speaking. Their recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing were spot on. Our room was impeccably clean and well-maintained. Breakfasts, served in a bright and cheerful setting, were delicious and also hearty enough to hold us until we had an early dinner each night. Our seven-night stay was delightful. Should we ever return to the lovely city of Trier, we would definitely stay in this reasonably-priced hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fussy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

First time in Trier and chose this hotel based on a Rick Steeves recommendation. This is a first-rate wonderful hotel. Great location, service, quality. The family who own the hotel (American born Paula and her husband) are the most gracious hosts and could not have been more accommodating or helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieR629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paulin Hotel
Paulin Hotel
#19 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutschherrenhof
Hotel Deutschherrenhof
#35 of 49 in Trier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
0.3 mi away
Romischer Kaiser
Romischer Kaiser
#37 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Bruchhausenstr. 4, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing