We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived at the hotel a bit early than planned due to the excellent traffic conditions and had no problem checking in. The staff at the reception was first class and very helpful. Great location, great hotel, great room and great service, need I say more?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was in this hotel 1 day during a business trip.
Nice hotel in a nice location, center of the town, clean, good level, very good breakfast, spacious room.
Very good price considering the hotel level.
I suggest it for business trip or longer stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank sabbiedoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Spend several days in Trier. The hotel was very convenient. Room overlooked the Porta Nigra and offered great views. The staff was very helpful on multiple subjects. If we make it back to Trier, we will stay at the Accor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank joerenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were happy to be upgraded to a suite upon arriving at the Mercure in a Trier. The suite is two-level and had very nice but somewhat out-dated accommodations. However, the room was extremely comfortable and provided a great view of Porta Nigra.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Great location seeing as it is across the street from Porta Nigra and the market center.

We did notice that the hotel may not be totally non-smoking so that is something we would suggest asking about.

We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank waldorfVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An excellent 4 star hotel,with great prices if you book ahead.
Reception Staff kind,welcoming,knowledgeable,fluent in many languages and just so helpful.
Hotel is a walk or short taxi ride from the Station.It is well situated for touring the old town.
Trier is a wonderful town to visit.Lots of Roman history,lovely old buildings,good shops,and this year the Elephant Parade,lots of Elephant models,my favourite was a red Turbo Elephant.The Elephants are 3 foot high and all over town.
You must visit Trier and for me this is the best Hotel in town.Very clean rooms,well furnished,immaculate bathroom.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

As I was visiting Germany for a medical check up after a major surgical operation done last year
in Kusel I stayed at mercure hotel trier porta nigra . This hotel has a very excellent location at the center of Trier.in front of pedestrian main shopping street .You can not dream of a better location .
It is 5 minutes walk from main train station and the public bus transportation station is in front of the hotel .The hotel is very clean but the breakfast is very expensive although many bakeries and breakfast restaurants are available around the hotel at a much cheaper price . My room was 515
at 5th floor (last floor) but the air condition was very bad and as I understood later that this floor which is the last floor was not properly thermally insulated . So try to avoid last floor otherwise it is a good hotel .The personnel of the hotel are really cooperative .

Room Tip: Avoid last floor as air condition is very bad.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fOuad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I paid a small amount to get a room with a view of the Porta Nigra and it certainly did, as does the restaurant. You park in the public carpark just underneath the hotel and they validate your ticket, very convenient.
Nice staff.
The only niggle was the overpriced breakfast.

Room Tip: overlook the Porta Nigra!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcwDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
1.3 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range: £66 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing