We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stopover in Trier, comfortable Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quick stopover in Trier, comfortable Stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Quick one night stay for three at the Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra. The hotel is comfortable and I saw a lot of business travelers checking in and out while we were there. We had three people and booked the hotel the day of our stay, rates were good 135 E plus 10 E per day parking for underground parking. They had made up the room for three and pulled out the sofa and made it by the time we had checked in, which was about 3 pm. The hotel is very central being located right in front of the Porta Nigra, the old ancient Roman Ruins. We didn't have breakfast or attend the restaurant or bar so we can't speak on those. The hotel also has a casino which stays open till 2 AM, there is a 4 E charge to enter. The only complaint was the room was quite stuffy and even with the windows open was still a little hot., but this is Germany so I guess you can't complain too much. Overall pleasant stay, the ladies at the front were all very friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    381
    84
    16
    5
See reviews for
124
397
56
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This Mercure looks like many of its partners worldwide, except for the glorious view of the Roman gate to the city still standing across the street. I returned after 50 years to find a comfortable business hotel, with a substantial breakfast buffet (at typically robust prices). The room was comfortable, with a single bed - perfectly adequate, a decent shower (that did not flood the floor), and good internet.

Room Tip: I booked through DB, the railway company, for a substantial discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We finally picked the Mercure for our 2-night stay after reading many reviews in Tripadvisor, and didn’t regret it. I always check the hotel websites first for rates, but this time I found a better rate at booking.com - €113 per night for a “privilege” room. If you are going to stay here do book one of these rooms facing onto the Porta Nigra, the view is outstanding! The busy street is only busy during the day – no problem with open windows at night. I might have concerns during the summer, as the sun shines on the windows during the afternoon, and the air conditioner didn’t seem terribly robust. In March we used the open windows for fresh air. The location is perfect, of course. Not only are you right at the main pedestrian area and central to all the sights, but the tourist information office is also right on the other side of the Porta Nigra. It’s amazing how many questions one can come up with if the TI is so easily available. The parking situation is fantastic, right under the hotel and you can take your car in and out as often as you please for the €10 per day fee.
Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The breakfast at €16 is actually good value if you want something other than rolls and marmalade for breakfast – good selection of everything including plenty of fresh fruit, smoked salmon, etc., and if you don’t have a room facing the Porta Nigra, you can at least enjoy the view for breakfast. The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Good mattresses, very soft fluffy pillows,
We will certainly return to this hotel, as there is always more to see in Trier.

Room Tip: Get a privilege room - view is great from all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

- Parking "Porta Nigra" is easy as the parking is located under the hotel. As customer of the hotel, you can also benefit of a price reduction and fixed fee for the whole day.
- The lobby and bar are class.
- Personnel is very friendly and helpful.
- If possible, ask for a room with view on the Porta Nigra
- Rooms are very comfortable with separate bath room equiped with bath tube and minibar.
- The restaurant is on the first floor where the breakfast is also organised.
- I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Trier because it is located in the Center of Trier
- Note: there is also a casino on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Porta Nigra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed over Valentine's Day weekend 2014. The location is fantastic; right across the street from Porta Niegra and the walking district. We got a good deal and asked for a larger room with a tub and room for a crib for our toddler. We ended up getting one of the hotel's two-floor suites. Floor-to-ceiling windows facing the Roman ruins, a small dining table, two couches downstairs, a WC downstairs, a loft with view of the windows and a full bath and a separate, large bedroom upstairs. The rooms were a little bit dated but not badly so. The location and price couldn't be beat for the off-season. Only downside was that we booked February 13 and when we arrived the 14th, the hotel restaurant was booked, and we found that the main pedestrian route had fairly few restaurants. The restaurant didn't look full when we asked for a table and were told no, and didn't look any fuller when we returned from walking the pedestrian district and not finding anything with room that was was to our liking. Not sure if they really were expecting folks or just didn't want to deal with the toddler. Room service was very fast, though not particularly great - the best items off the restaurant menu were not available, just schnitzel and the like. Breakfast on Saturday was very well-laid out - Continental of course, but with lots of choices, good fresh fruit (not canned) cut up and whole, lots of bread choices, lots of meat choices. With the deal, the view, and the location, I would definitely stay here again, though I suspect during high season the prices will increase dramatically.

Room Tip: If it is off-season, see if you can get one of the suites for a decent price - GREAT view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed two nights early December. Excellent view of historic Porta Nigra. Room clean and fresh.
As hotel is on main road, it maybe a bit noisy if you have room to front . Staff very helpful throughout . Very close to main shopping area and restaurants. Choice of food in bar very good. Overall pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel maybe noisy due to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcub34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Property: Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing