We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room overlooked the gate and it was nice. Had coffee and tea in room, very clean, very nice staff. Beds were probably the most comfortable to date on this trip. Right at city center. Not very charming but clean, orderly, and very German. Parking only 10€.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking gate are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    387
    85
    16
    5
See reviews for
126
405
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rastatt, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here, as the title says the location is great, just across from the Porta Negra, and the city centre.

A couple of things downgraded it to a 3+ instead of the solid 4 a Mercure hotel would normally get from me.

The water in the bathroom was at best lukewarm, not the greatest for a shave, and a bit uncomfortable for a shower. There is a bit of a noise issue as the rooms on the south side are about 200 metres from the helipad of a large hospital, which gets a good bit of traffic (seemed like there was a medivac chopper landing every hour or so, it was the Whit Sunday holiday period, so likely more accidents on the autobahn than usual). The room was well appointed, with free WiFi, Cable TV etc. Drinks in the minibar were overpriced, but what else is new there? The bed was comfortable and quite firm as I prefer.

The Bar was ok, with a view of the Port Negra, service was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfighter441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-ferrand, France
Level Contributor
192 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is a very German place
Room are very austere
But view over the porta nigra was really top
Staff at the bar was very gentle
Staff at the restaurant was extremely unpleasant and keen to finish service. They installed the breakfast for next morning. It is extremely uncomfortable which is a shame as the very large bay window overlooking the Porta Negra is really very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Got a room looking directly out at the Porta Nigra, right across the street. Pretty cool thing to wake up to. Can't beat the location, you're easy walking distance to the Roman ruins, the Karl Marx Museum, the cathedral and the old town center. Hotel is a bit dated (60's), but clean and in good repair. Breakfast is good, nice variety, plentiful, and with a view of the Porta Nigra. Only downside was the air conditioning, it didn't cool very well and we had exceptionally warm weather during our stay. But at night we just opened the window wide instead. And despite being right on the road, it wasn't noticeably noisy.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the Porta Nigra, it's a cool thing to gaze upon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Nauheim, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel location is perfect. You just cross the road and you can visit the famous Porta Nigra.
The check-in was very fast and informative. The rooms are quite spacey, clean and well furnished.
The breakfast was also very good.
There is also parking facility. The staff are very helpfull and efficient.
We were very pleased with the hotel and I am sure that we will visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a room away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarir1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed there two days, room has a good size with comfy bed, good amenities and excellent view to Porta Nigra. Parking was perfect, breakfast was very nice, free wifi provided. Perfect choice to stay in Trier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvgenyG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After an unfortunate experience with Mercure last year I vowed never to use them again. However needs must and what a pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed my stay. My room was good, the staff very helpful and the breakfast better than usual on the continent. It is an easy 15 minute walk from the railway station and even closer to the city centre. And my room overlooked the Porta Nigra.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Property: Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Address: Porta Nigra Platz 1, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Trier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the world-famous Porta Nigra and just a few minutes from the historic center, our modern 4 star hotel bids you a warm welcome with its 106 rooms. Our restaurant features a view of the Porta Nigra, the Bistro-Bar Vis-a-Vis, the international casino of Trier and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Trier Porta Nigra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing