We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
default11082022

Scam hotel, stay away

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Aug 2022
The hotel said that breakfast was included with the price of the room that I booked. Then when I was checking out, they charged me extra for breakfast. I was completely shocked at the scam that they are trying to pull off. I do not recommend staying here at all, for this reason.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra, responded to this review
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your accommodation and the time you have spent giving us your feedback of your stay.
We always want to create the best experience for you and our guests. I am sorry that you felt different.

Could you please contact me with your travel details via mail h5356-gm@accor.com so I can have a closer look at your case to provide you the best possible option to solve your complainment.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Peter Jüngling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£89
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
£107
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
£177
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
£75
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    £75
0.6 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Anlage Blesius Garten
£97
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Außenansicht
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £104
0.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £201
  • Algotels
1.1 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kategorie JAB
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £102
  • Expedia.com
    £113
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Trier
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porta nigra privilege room great location old town per day underground parking excellent hotel comfortable hotel within easy walking distance air conditioning gate furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

Located just in front of the porta nigra, it is difficult to find a better location for your hotel in Trier. We arrived around noon, and were promptly made clear by the masked lady behind the plastic wall that our arrival before 15H00 was not appreciated. Then, and only then as contractually agreed, the room would be made available.
Not a big deal for us, as we visited the city in the afternoon. Someone else had taken her place in the evening and the lady gave us the keys and the hotel instructions in a friendly way. The room was rather basic - with view on porta nigra - but we got a good night of sleep.
Breakfast is the traditional Mercure breakfast ; not really something to remember.
Convenient is the underground parking directly under the hotel for 15 € per night.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2022

Overall very good stay. Beautiful, well appointed room. Excellent location.
Only marred by poor treatment at breakfast. Young lady on duty was not present when we arrived so we sat down without permission. This obviously annoyed the staff member who was then very brusque and unwelcoming although we made sure to check in with her.
Dining facilities otherwise very good. Parking at hotel excellent for location.

Room tip: Front of hotel for the view; back for the peace and quiet.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MacBrayne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2022

To echo a common refrain among previous reviews, you cannot beat the location. And if air conditioning is an important consideration for you, it is one of the few such hotels in that immediate vicinity with AC that can be considered moderately priced. The hotel is clean and well-maintained and the staff was helpful. Underground parking with direct access to the hotel is a major plus. The only notable downside we encountered; furnishings and lighting do not appear to been updated recently. That said, would we return to Trier, we would initially look upon this as our first option.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2022

Excellent hotel with very clean and comfortable rooms, our room was at the front of the hotel so had a view of the Porta Nigra Gate to the town. 
The hotel is located just a 2 minute walk from the town centre. There is car parking available on site for 14€ per day and is available above or underground which was good for parking the motorbike.
Breakfast was absolutely fabulous and well worth having.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and speak English if required.

Room tip: Book a room at the front with a view of the Porta Nigra Gate.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2020

Probably the best location in Trier, next to Porta Nigra and big parking. Rooms are somewhere outdated and would need refurbishment, but clean and all you need. Covid proof and excellent buffet breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank LUC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews