We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Moramare
Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Worn out hotel with a view

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2022via mobile
Back to the future (or past) in real life; this hotel hasn’t been renovated since it was built it seems. The atmosphere reminded me of a seminary; cherry wood panelling, wooden floors, cellar like rooms.
We booked a room with a view which was amazing. The rate plan however turned out to be a scam; surf and breakfast should be translated into room and breakfast. Surf is offered for free to all guests..
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Don’t book the surf and breakfast rate
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Dear Moramare, Thank you very much for your visit. I am very sorry that our hotel did not appeal to you very much. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and ask for your understanding for a hotel that - although still in good shape - lacks some top modern details and shows signs of wear due to its age. However, please be assured that appropriate renovation measures are already being planned. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Trier and at our hotel. With best regards, Christopher Lubk, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Außenansicht
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £94
0.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
£108
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Expedia.com
    £108
0.8 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
£171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £165
  • Expedia.com
    £165
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£92
  • ibis Styles
    £89
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £92
0.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
£172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £178
  • Agoda.com
    £171
  • Hotels.com
    £178
0.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Kategorie JAB
£94
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £114
1.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Anlage Blesius Garten
£95
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £102
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£60
  • Expedia.com
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £59
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotel Eurener Hof (Außenansicht)
£140
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £140
2.0 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £195
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Trier
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porta nigra privilege room great location old town per day underground parking excellent hotel comfortable hotel within easy walking distance air conditioning gate furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022

Booked a privilege room with some extra amenities and a view of Porta Nigra. View was fantastic. Location of the hotel is good for getting around the seeing the town. Parking was very convenient behind the hotel. Breakfast was great, again with an amazing view. Our only minor complaint was the location of the toilet immediately behind the bathroom door. We were perfectly satisfied with our stay.

Room tip: Book a room with a view.
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EKandRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Located directly opposite the Porta Nigra, The Old Town, shops, restaurants and river are all within easy walking distance. Lovely rooms, good size and very clean. Good car park, also underground available. Friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank YvonneSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022

A short walk to/from the HBF, and across the street from Port Nigra - Great Location! The bed was comfortable, shower water pressure was good, and the rooms are air conditioned! The only problem we had was that the room safe was already locked, so we couldn't use it. We would stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrislbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

The hotel said that breakfast was included with the price of the room that I booked. Then when I was checking out, they charged me extra for breakfast. I was completely shocked at the scam that they are trying to pull off. I do not recommend staying here at all, for this reason.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank default11082022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 18 August 2022

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your accommodation and the time you have spent giving us your feedback of your stay.
We always want to create the best experience for you and our guests. I am sorry that you felt different.

Could you please contact me with your travel details via mail h5356-gm@accor.com so I can have a closer look at your case to provide you the best possible option to solve your complainment.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Peter Jüngling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

Located just in front of the porta nigra, it is difficult to find a better location for your hotel in Trier. We arrived around noon, and were promptly made clear by the masked lady behind the plastic wall that our arrival before 15H00 was not appreciated. Then, and only then as contractually agreed, the room would be made available.
Not a big deal for us, as we visited the city in the afternoon. Someone else had taken her place in the evening and the lady gave us the keys and the hotel instructions in a friendly way. The room was rather basic - with view on porta nigra - but we got a good night of sleep.
Breakfast is the traditional Mercure breakfast ; not really something to remember.
Convenient is the underground parking directly under the hotel for 15 € per night.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews