We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BrendaBill
Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Wonderful stay.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2024
Hotel was excellent. The public areas are bright and gleaming. There was a great selection of food at both breakfast and dinner buffet. The room was large and spotlessly clean. The highlight of our stay was one of the waiting staff whose surname is Rodriguez. She was a delight has a smile which brightened the dining room and truly looked after us during our five night stay.
The hotel could not be better placed for access to the city centre shops and tourist attractions.
Well done Mercure.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Außenansicht
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
    £94
0.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
£171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £165
  • Priceline
    £171
  • Hotels.com
    £165
0.2 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£107
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £107
  • Vio.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £108
0.8 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
£92
  • ibis Styles
    £89
  • Priceline
    £92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
0.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
£172
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £178
  • Priceline
    £171
  • Hotels.com
    £178
0.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Kategorie JAB
£94
  • Priceline
    £114
  • Agoda.com
    £80
  • Expedia.com
    £114
1.4 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Anlage Blesius Garten
£95
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Hotels.com
    £106
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£60
  • Priceline
    £57
  • Hotels.com
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £59
1.3 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotel Eurener Hof (Außenansicht)
£140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £140
  • Agoda.com
    £140
2.0 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
£71
  • HIExpress.com
    £71
  • StayForLong
    £69
  • Expedia.com
    £71
0.6 miles from Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Trier
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
395
546
130
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porta nigra privilege room great location old town per day underground parking excellent hotel comfortable hotel within easy walking distance air conditioning gate furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2024

First, the fitted sheet didn't, and by morning you were wrapped up in it. The bins didn't get emptied every day. The cups and glasses didn't get cleaned. We stayed 5 days and by the time we left you vould see where I had placed my toothbrush ( 5 marks) the room had no information about wifi, how the TV works nothing! The safe was old and needed a key which we lurched high and low for, apparently we needed to go to reception. This is our fith and last stay I this hotel. There are many hotels in Trier so go and find one! The manager will no doubt ask that we give them another try like last time ....but the limit has been reached

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 May 2024

Dear Mike K.,
As on the other online portals: I sincerely apologize for the problems regarding the house-keeping and the service that unfortunately caused inconveniences for you.
Yours sincerely, Christopher Lubk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

Forget about sitting in bed for reading or watching TV.
Reading-lamps are installed in the middle of the bed instead of the sides!. Therefore every time you move, you crash your head against them!. Painful experience, I am afraid. Photo attached.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 5 May 2024

Dear U6598CVmariar,
Thank you for your feedback & for your critique and suggestions on improvement. We sincerely regret that your experience with the room design did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems. We hope that your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one. Best regards, Christopher Lubk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

Very old outdated hotel with smelly rooms and floor noise when you walk around. Uncomfortable bed and bathroom not really clean.
Would not recommend it as 4 star hotel. Restaurant closes at 20.30.
Somehow everything looks like from 80’s or 90’s last century.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank o77b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 28 February 2024

Dear o77b,
Thank you for your visit. I am very sorry that our hotel did not appeal to you very much. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and ask for your understanding for a hotel that - although still in good shape - lacks some top modern details and shows signs of wear due to its age. However, please be assured that appropriate renovation measures are already being planned. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Trier and at our hotel.
With best regards, Christopher Lubk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

Solid hotel with everything you need. The location next to Porta Nigra is ideal, also with being just outside the city center but not too far. The rooms themselves are old but spacious.

We had two problems with our stay, one on the major side, one less so.

(1) The wall is coming apart. As in, I leaned against it and heard things falling... inside the wall. Upon closer inspection, I saw the wall was jutting out slightly from beneath the wallpaper (see photo). I am not qualified to comment on structural integrity of a room, so I don't know if it's negligible or a few years away from collapse, but it didn't make me feel great sleeping next to a potentially disintegrating wall.

(2) The room is stuffy and the air conditioning was very weak. We set it down to 20 but did not notice a difference. It was not a good night's sleep.

All in all, I guess it was fine since the wall did not collapse, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank travelingammonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 25 January 2024

Dear travelingammonite,
Thank you for your feedback & for your critique and suggestions on improvement. We sincerely regret that your experience with the room did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.
Best regards, Christopher Lubk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

We appreciated the location of the hotel which is opposite Porta Nigra.
The underground parking makes the stay very convenient for us.
We like that the room was spacious & it has a sitting area partially separated from the beds. Bathroom was clean too.
The rooms are very well sound-proofed so we had a nice quiet rest at night despite the loud music from a party in the bar.
The breakfast has an extensive variety & of good quality. We enjoyed our breakfast with the view of Porta Nigra.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephannie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews