We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This small-ish hotel is well situated, a short walk along the main road to the Porta Nigra and the town centre. It's easy to find when travelling by car and the car park (chargeable) had plenty of room during our one night stay. Staff are very friendly and all those we had contact with spoke excellent English. Rooms are a reasonable size and the breakfast is good but not outstanding. Free Wifi worked in the reception area but not in our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    122
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
132
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel ante porta Das Stat Hotel (to give it it’s full name) is a new boutique hotel on a main road just a few minutes’ walk from the city’s famous Porta Negro Roman gate, which marks the start of the large central pedestrian area. It has (£6 per night) secure parking to the rear. The rooms are comfortable, clinically clean and very well appointed. State of the art service installation and electronic systems remind you that you’re in Germany. Breakfast, and it’s service, were equally good with everything you’d expect and more besides.

I couldn’t fault this well positioned comfortable hotel, with excellent facilities and service. At £86.50 a night bottom line, this is the place we’ll stay when we make our next stop-over, and we would highly recommend it to anyone contemplating a visit to this delightful German City.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 3 night at this lovely little boutique hotel. Had one of the 2, two bedroom units, complete with kitchenette. Ultra clean, except we had to carry our ages up the last 2 floors. The elevators only go up to the 2nd floor. So if you want to avoid this, just book the 1st and 2nd floors only.
Walking distance to the old town centre and from the main train station. Aldi is just 3 mins walk if you need to stock up on beverages or quick meals.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were so pleased to find this modern and stylish boutique hotel so close to the old town center. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Service was good and the breakfast was terrific. I'd highly recommend this to all my friends.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor rather than on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank challo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Ante Porta. It is less than a 10-minute walk to the old town centre and there are some shops nearby. For North Americans, the hotel is more like a motel in that it doesn't quite have all the amenities of a hotel - no swimming pool, fitness centre, or business centre.

The room was all right. It was spacious but lacked warmth due to the solid white walls. The bed appeared to be a double bed, but it was two single mattresses joined together. As such, we were given single-sized duvets, which was unusual. The pillows were too flat and quite small, where both pillows could fit on half the bed (or one of the singles).

Wifi access was quite poor. Ours only worked in certain spot while our friends could not get it in their room.

Breakfast, though, was good with a wide variety of items. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The price of the hotel was excellent. Really, a pretty good value at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Trier is a wonderful little city filled with numerous ancient sites -- Roman baths, Porta Nigra, an enormous Roman Basilica, and an amphitheater. There is also a wonderful old Cathedral, a nice market square, all in the heart of the Mosel wine region.

Ante Porta was a great place to stay. The service was friendly and efficient and flexible, the facility was new, modernistic, clean and comfortable. There was parking for a nominal charge, and although breakfast was not included in the room fee, it was only 7 Euros more per person, and was among the most extensive and highest quality breakfasts we had in German on our trip.

While located outside of the tourist zone per se, its a short 2 block (one-third mile) walk from Porta Nigra, the entryway into the Market Square, which then leads to the Cathedral, with the Basilica and Baths a little further down the road.

The price was extremely reasonable for 3 people. While it might have been a little more convenient to have a hotel closer into the heart of Trier, the combination of comfort, cleanliness, price, breakfast and parking couldn't be beat. There is a lot to see in Trier, and ante porta is a perfect place to base a visit.

Room Tip: If breakfast is not part of your room rate, make sure to pay for it (7 Euros). One of the better an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We spent one night there. The rooms were clean and modern: especially the bath room with a full sized shower. Free wireless lan was good. The location isn't really the most scenic. But within short walking distance to the porta negra. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theboldster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ante porta - Das Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ante porta - Das Stadthotel

Property: ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Address: Paulinstr. 66, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ante porta - Das Stadthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your ante porta - Das Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing