We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Romans mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Gladbeck, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On Romans mark”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Modern furnished hotel with familiar atmosphere, 200 m straight to the Porta Nigra. A large double bed room with couch, chairs & desk. 35" flate screen tv. Refridge for own liquids. Car park chargeable. Breakfast reasonable. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    123
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
135
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a family room (3rd bed in the room) with a fridge and small eating area in the room. Every one of the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and large, 10 minute walk (max) to the old town center via the Black Gate. A 10 minute walk to the northwest takes you to a nice local pool if the weather is hot, and at 2.20 euro is a bargain.
Tip: the Trier Antiquities Card is a good value to see 2 ruins sites and the fantastic archeological museum. The museum was absolutely worthwhile, and we hadn't planned on visiting it.....it was a nice surprise.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO2112traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This small-ish hotel is well situated, a short walk along the main road to the Porta Nigra and the town centre. It's easy to find when travelling by car and the car park (chargeable) had plenty of room during our one night stay. Staff are very friendly and all those we had contact with spoke excellent English. Rooms are a reasonable size and the breakfast is good but not outstanding. Free Wifi worked in the reception area but not in our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel ante porta Das Stat Hotel (to give it it’s full name) is a new boutique hotel on a main road just a few minutes’ walk from the city’s famous Porta Negro Roman gate, which marks the start of the large central pedestrian area. It has (£6 per night) secure parking to the rear. The rooms are comfortable, clinically clean and very well appointed. State of the art service installation and electronic systems remind you that you’re in Germany. Breakfast, and it’s service, were equally good with everything you’d expect and more besides.

I couldn’t fault this well positioned comfortable hotel, with excellent facilities and service. At £86.50 a night bottom line, this is the place we’ll stay when we make our next stop-over, and we would highly recommend it to anyone contemplating a visit to this delightful German City.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 3 night at this lovely little boutique hotel. Had one of the 2, two bedroom units, complete with kitchenette. Ultra clean, except we had to carry our ages up the last 2 floors. The elevators only go up to the 2nd floor. So if you want to avoid this, just book the 1st and 2nd floors only.
Walking distance to the old town centre and from the main train station. Aldi is just 3 mins walk if you need to stock up on beverages or quick meals.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were so pleased to find this modern and stylish boutique hotel so close to the old town center. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Service was good and the breakfast was terrific. I'd highly recommend this to all my friends.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor rather than on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank challo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Ante Porta. It is less than a 10-minute walk to the old town centre and there are some shops nearby. For North Americans, the hotel is more like a motel in that it doesn't quite have all the amenities of a hotel - no swimming pool, fitness centre, or business centre.

The room was all right. It was spacious but lacked warmth due to the solid white walls. The bed appeared to be a double bed, but it was two single mattresses joined together. As such, we were given single-sized duvets, which was unusual. The pillows were too flat and quite small, where both pillows could fit on half the bed (or one of the singles).

Wifi access was quite poor. Ours only worked in certain spot while our friends could not get it in their room.

Breakfast, though, was good with a wide variety of items. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The price of the hotel was excellent. Really, a pretty good value at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ante porta - Das Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ante porta - Das Stadthotel

Property: ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Address: Paulinstr. 66, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ante porta - Das Stadthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your ante porta - Das Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing