We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel not far to walk to the Porta Nigra and centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel not far to walk to the Porta Nigra and centre”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We do not usually book modern hotels, we like traditional hotels. But this hotel we enjoyed. Colour scheme bright green but fine, comfy chairs in the breakfast room. Car park at the back of hotel barrier controlled. Extra charge but worth it. Reception staff all helpful and friendly. Our room 102 faced the front on the 1st floor. There is a lift. Bedroom very clean and modern, plenty of room to walk around, lovely bathroom. NO air conditioning, also no fans. Comfy bed. BUT when we opened the windows at night for some air, the noise of the traffic was terrible, we had to close them. I asked at reception for a loan or to hire a fan as we were staying 2 nights. We were told they didn't have any. It's a shame they didn't think of buying some fans for their guests. Would use this hotel again back request a room overlooking the car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    124
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
136
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a modern hotel just a few blocks away from the Porta Nigra and the ancient sites in Trier. The rooms were lovely and very clean and comfortable. The family suite is an excellent deal: two rooms separated by a small foyer, with a bathroom in between. We were on the 4th floor which requires a walk up - the elevator only goes to the 2nd floor - so this might not be appropriate for older people. The location isn't perfect, as you have to walk a few blocks down a busy city street, but other than that it's an excellent hotel with a very nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladbeck, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Modern furnished hotel with familiar atmosphere, 200 m straight to the Porta Nigra. A large double bed room with couch, chairs & desk. 35" flate screen tv. Refridge for own liquids. Car park chargeable. Breakfast reasonable. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in a family room (3rd bed in the room) with a fridge and small eating area in the room. Every one of the staff was very friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and large, 10 minute walk (max) to the old town center via the Black Gate. A 10 minute walk to the northwest takes you to a nice local pool if the weather is hot, and at 2.20 euro is a bargain.
Tip: the Trier Antiquities Card is a good value to see 2 ruins sites and the fantastic archeological museum. The museum was absolutely worthwhile, and we hadn't planned on visiting it.....it was a nice surprise.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO2112traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This small-ish hotel is well situated, a short walk along the main road to the Porta Nigra and the town centre. It's easy to find when travelling by car and the car park (chargeable) had plenty of room during our one night stay. Staff are very friendly and all those we had contact with spoke excellent English. Rooms are a reasonable size and the breakfast is good but not outstanding. Free Wifi worked in the reception area but not in our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel ante porta Das Stat Hotel (to give it it’s full name) is a new boutique hotel on a main road just a few minutes’ walk from the city’s famous Porta Negro Roman gate, which marks the start of the large central pedestrian area. It has (£6 per night) secure parking to the rear. The rooms are comfortable, clinically clean and very well appointed. State of the art service installation and electronic systems remind you that you’re in Germany. Breakfast, and it’s service, were equally good with everything you’d expect and more besides.

I couldn’t fault this well positioned comfortable hotel, with excellent facilities and service. At £86.50 a night bottom line, this is the place we’ll stay when we make our next stop-over, and we would highly recommend it to anyone contemplating a visit to this delightful German City.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 3 night at this lovely little boutique hotel. Had one of the 2, two bedroom units, complete with kitchenette. Ultra clean, except we had to carry our ages up the last 2 floors. The elevators only go up to the 2nd floor. So if you want to avoid this, just book the 1st and 2nd floors only.
Walking distance to the old town centre and from the main train station. Aldi is just 3 mins walk if you need to stock up on beverages or quick meals.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ante porta - Das Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ante porta - Das Stadthotel

Property: ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Address: Paulinstr. 66, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ante porta - Das Stadthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your ante porta - Das Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing