We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”
Review of Hotel Aulmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aulmann
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2010

A very nice hotel with reasonable price, very close to the shopping center. Walking distance to Trier Dom. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macungietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aulmann
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

A good-value modern hotel in the centre of the city. Despite the central pedestrianised location, there doesn't seem to be a big problem with street noise at night - it's a shopping rather than nightlife area. The room was reasonably sized, clean and comfortable, with a good-sized separate bathroom. My only criticism was that the hotel charges per hour for internet access, but at this rate it's forgivable. The other caution is that if you are extremely scared of heights the hotel occupies the upper stories of a commercial building, and you have to take a glass lift to reach the reception. Note that the hotel is, so far as I could see, completely non-smoking apart from the reception area. The hotel has no restaurant but a decent cheapish restaurant down the street, "Kiste", is owned by the same people - no discount for people staying, though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KdSLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The hotel provided us with a good location and a good breakfast, but the room was small for three people. There was nothing special about the room, and there was no airconditioning, so we had to keep the windows open. This meant we could hear the people partying all night outside. The staff was friendly, but not very accommodating. There was no help with luggage or any room service available. The location was great for seeing all the Roman ruins we wanted to see. I didn't realize there was so much more to Trier, though, and wish we had had time to see more sights. The hotel is right next to a food store, so picking up snacks for the next leg of our trip was easy. The hotel also offered parking for a fee.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozmova5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The hotel is located in the central (pedestrian) zone of Trier, nearby the main attractions (except the Amphitheatre, which is outside the centre of town, but anyway Trier is quite small...).
My room was quite essential but tidy, the bathroom was spacious for a 3-star hotel and very clean. I could not try the breakfast since I had to leave very early in the morning (but they gave me a small "breakfast box"). The staff is really kind and English speaking.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

If arriving by car you need to reserve a place in their underground car park along with your room reservation. The lift runs from the underground car park, or street level, to reception on the second floor. The room was small, functional and clean. It was a warm, humid night with no fan or air-conditioning for relief. The hotel has no internet at all. Breakfast is a typical European choice of cereals, bread, meat, cheese, etc. The only thing to redeem this hotel is it’s location for walking to the old town to see the sights.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The Hotel Aulmann is conveniently located on the edge of the pedestrianised area of Trier, walking distance from all the major sites. Arriving by car it was not easy to find but we got there in the end. The hotel has secure underground parking. For those not arriving by car, it is a 10 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof.
The room was adequately sized, clean and entirely met expectations for a hotel of this type. Breakfast was also perfectly adequate. I would have no hesitation recommending it as a business or leisure hotel for a short stay in Trier.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Michael C999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

We spent three nights at the Aulmann Hotel over the President's Day Weekend in February 2008 for 85 Euro a night, though walk-ins can probably get a better rate. Currently, construction blocks the "Garmin" direction to the hotel. It's scheduled to be completed by Fall 2008 but access by car is still simple once you reroute. If you're driving a high profile vehicle (SUV, etc) it's doubtful you will be able to use their garage. The hotel is on the top two floors of a professional bldg just inside the Trier pedestrian zone. There is a lift open from 7 am to 10 pm only. If you have heavy luggage, plan on arriving before then. The hotel room and bathroom were a decent size and clean. You can bring a dog for a small fee. The inclusive breakfast was nice, with sliced meats, cheeses, fruit, brotchen and croissants (great when they're still warm). Unfortunately, our room was on the stairway wall so footsteps and conversations of late arrivals were annoying. A room further down the hall would have been better. They provided a map of Trier which I wish I'd paid more attention to. We kept getting turned around and walking much further than necessary. Overall, our stay was pleasant and the staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
0.8 mi away
ante porta - Das Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aulmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aulmann

Address: Fleischstr. 47-48, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: £73 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aulmann 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aulmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulmann Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing