We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel in Trier”
Review of Hotel Villa Hugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Hugel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful family hotel in Trier”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is a small and personal hotel with a very friendly staff and a superb restaurant with a view of the town of Trier. The room was quite small, but very clean and fresh. The breakfast was very good and there were many things to choose from. A visit to the hotel restaurant is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    84
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
317
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice hotel ion a hill outside the city center (5 minutes by car/ 30 minutes walk). Spic & Span clean. Spacious rooms with free wifi access. Good view on the city from the room. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Restaurant = okay. The hotel has got excellent saunas. We liked this place a lot and would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

2 night stay during a touring holiday. Hotel on a hill above the city and 25 minute walk into the centre. There is a bus stop near by for those who don't want the walk. Small car park get in by mid afternoon to get a space. Good free wifi access in our room. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Dined in the restaurant one evening and it was enjoyable and a very good breakfast buffet. Our room was one the top floor with a good view over the city, no lift access which wasn't a problem for us. Room very clean however the downside for me was the bed was very firm so didn't sleep so well.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st floor as there is no lift if you have problems climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I had a two night stay in this hotel during a motoring tour of continental Europe and to break the journey before travelling on to Holland. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff, professional and very efficient. We had a delightful meal in the restaurant and were well looked after by Frau Weber our table server. We were fortunate to be able to park the car in the small car park. The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the city of Trier which is about a 25/30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Thank you, fellow trip-advisor reviewers! I took your advice and booked two nights at this wonderful inn. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. Our rooms were lovely, the food was very good and the facilities were very nice. We ate our breakfast and also a dinner on the outdoor patio, overlooking the city of Trier. We could walk into the very interesting city center in about 10 minutes. Our room was a "comfort room", so we had a private terrace as well. The hotel is on a hill and uses several the different levels very cleverly. As I've found in other small inns in Europe, the Wi-Fi wasn't really that robust, but you are supposed to be on vacation anyway. Highly recommend a stay at Villa Hugel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank woodzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotell has a calm and relaxing atmosphere and the staff is fantastic, so caring and obliging!
The room was clean and nice and the bathroom was very nice. Our room had a balcony which was nice to sit on in the evenings.
Unfortenately our room didn't have air condition and it was 32 degrees outside. They put a fanner in the room which helped a lot. The location of our room also allowed us to sleep with all the windows open.
The hotel is situated a 10-15 minutes walk from the city center, in the middle of a villa street which made it nice and quiet. It had a nice terrace where we could have breakfast or dinner or a drink. The breakfast was great!
They have an indoor pool but we didn't use it because it was so hot in there and that didn't appeal to us.
If I'll come to Trier again I would definately stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a good size with air conditioning, plenty of storage space and a super bathroom with a good shower. Staff were very friendly most fluent in English. Parking is free and there is additional parking down the street. Hotel is situated on a quiet street just outside the town centre on a hill with panoramic views of Trier. Excellent pool and sauna area. Breakfast was excellent, we had dinner on the terrace both nights- delicious, and a lovely setting. There is a real family run feeling to this place. I would recommend a stay here if you are visiting anywhere in the Frankfurt area. Also handy for a trip to Luxembourg.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salutethesunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trier
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
20.3 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Hugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Hugel

Property: Hotel Villa Hugel
Address: Bernhardstr. 14, 54295 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Trier
#1 Family Hotel in Trier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Hugel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Hugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hugel Hotel Trier
Hugel Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing