We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Part of the charm of Trier”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Hugel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Hugel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Part of the charm of Trier”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a perfect hotel for couples, but I went with my family and it also worked well. The old house is on top of a hill overlooking the city, so the views are great. Service is perfect, with everyone taking care of every detail. Breakfast is very good! Nice swimming pool as well.

Room Tip: A view towards the city is always recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebabustos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    80
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
304
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week. Great breakfast. Lots of varieties of fish, eggs and meat. Great service by very professional staff. Lovely room. Well equipped. Small pool and sauna but a fabulous base for a stay. Had dinner one evening. Very good home cooked food. Simple but extremely tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great, spacious standard double room, . Arrived late in the evening but the staff arranged for a light night meal from the kitchen. Excellent breakfast selection. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice terracce with excellent view of Trier. Very attractive price compared to the high quality of the hotel. Parking lot full, but additional parking only 50 meters away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had booked a standard double room but were given an upgrade to a room with a balcony which was a real treat. Our stay was for three nights and we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on one night.

The staff and amenities were excellent, the location great and the bed was the most comfortable I have probably ever slept in (including our bed at home!) All the praise heaped on this hotel by other guests is well-deserved; we felt cosseted without being overwhelmed by attention - the staff notice what you need and quietly and efficiently provide it.

The breakfast buffet was extensive and included eggs cooked to order in various ways, cereals, fruit, cheese, fish, meat, vegetables, bread, preserves, yogurt and other milk products...it was so difficult to choose when you want to try everything! The evening meal was also good but don't be tempted to have the extra course because then you have no room for pudding.

A pleasant 15 minute walk gets you into the heart of the town and helps counteract the effect of the hefty breakfasts. If that isn't enough, there is a small swimming pool and fitness centre for hotel guests (which we didn't use). A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Personalised service you will only get at 5 stars hotels. From the first moment until the moment of check out you feel like being a special guest. The owners and their personnel are making sure you feel at home adding that personal touch to your stay. Breakfast is simply marvelous including top quality fresh products. Rooms are not five star, as the room prices are modest, but hey, you feel like home, with your "personal butlers" bringing tea to your room at simple request. It shows that hotel hospitality is all about service, quality and focus on details. Congratulations to the owners and their team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was in Trier for business and stayed at the Villa Hugel for an extended period of time. I have to admit that I had a great experience. The staff were extremly welcoming and polite. The hotel owners do everything to make you welcome. The sauna and breakfast are exceptional! I hope to come back again!.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor have recently been renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamyarN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
275 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Nice modern gasthaus. Walking distance to cathedral and other attractions. Would definitely stay again. Local fare, and very friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. A little costly for the hotel, and very limited parking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_Man1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trier
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
20.3 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Hugel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Hugel

Property: Hotel Villa Hugel
Address: Bernhardstr. 14, 54295 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trier
#1 Business Hotel in Trier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Hugel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Hugel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hugel Hotel Trier
Hugel Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing