We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My recommendation for a smaller to medium budget.”
Review of Hotel Vinum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vinum
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Trier, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My recommendation for a smaller to medium budget.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I've booked this place for my student group 3 summers in a row now, and I've not been disappointed once.
The rooms are clean and look modern, the staff friendly and even my chaotic group bookings always went smoothly.
The hotel partly employs handicapped staff (eg. hearing impaired), which I think is a very good way to go.

Since it's directly in front of the train and bus station, it's convenient for travellers with luggage, late/early trains, or anyone who's easily getting lost ;)
The walk into town will take you about 5-10 minutes; alternatively, hop almost any bus for a 2 min ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirokuma234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
23
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Excellent location - opposite the local bus station and main train station and a short walk into the centre. Very good breakfast with loads of choices. If you catch the Flibco bus from Franfurt Hahn airport to Nells Park inTrier, you can easily get local buses to the main train station/hotel. It has a lift which is handy after long days of sightseeing and shopping! Would definitely recommend this hotel for value for money and comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Three of us stayed here on a Friday night before beginning a bike trip on the Mosel River. It is directly across the street from the train station and a short walk to the cathedral, Porta Negra and the pedestrian zone. It is also a quick downhill trip to the river in the morning.

The rooms we had were perfect, immaculate and modern. The only problem was one room was on the top floor and so had gathered the heat of the day - but with the windows opened in the late afternoon it cooled down. Each room had a free split of local wine, if you wanted it chilled you could exchange at the front desk.

There is a bike room on the ground floor and secure storage for bikes outside as well (Accessed through the bike room).

Breakfast was plentiful, both hot and cold choices and plenty of choice with coffee, hot chocolate, fresh banana milkshake and juices as well.

Staff were helpful and very pleasant.

I would stay here again in a moment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the train station, especially on weekends. On a Friday night ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Of all the hotels I have stayed in, in Europe, this is by far the best. The room was super clean, very spacious, large windwos, with a big bathroom, big flat screen television (although the channels were mostly in german), fresh totals in abundant. There is also a complimentary bottle of wine. It was no problem checking in early, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel was located steps away from the railway station and bus stops, and 15 mins walking to the town center.

Only disadvantage was the room was not sound proof so can be an issue during the weekend for light sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deevahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I lived one month in with hotel when I came in my business trip.
+
located near the railway-station(and center of town)
clean
friendly
free Wi-fi in room
free bottle of wine
-
I has room with Pink walls and Dark GREEN roof, it's crazy %(
For with money I could has better hotel(but I didn't knew when searching)
Anteporta – it's newest(only 1-2 year)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavemana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The location was convenient, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. Nothing luxurious but we weren't paying for luxury.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraksa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2007

We stayed at this hotel in February 2007. For train travelers with heavy luggage, this hotel is as close as you can get to the train station. We were extremely happy with the hotel's value however it has been at least 20 years since the furnitutre and fixtures were upgraded. That said, we still felt the hotel offered more than enough value for the price/location and the owners run a clean ship.

The proprietors were more than generous, probably because the hotel was nearly empty during the off-season. I would guess they are far more harried during the summer with budget travelers coming and going.

I would definitely recommend this hotel during the off-season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It's been a long time since any refurbishment has occurred
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rockyhilltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Casa Chiara
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
Hotel Restaurant Pieper
#22 of 49 in Trier
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vinum

Property: Hotel Vinum
Address: Bahnhofsplatz 7, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Formerly Hotel Monopol)
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vinum 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vinum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing