We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good accommodations”
Review of Park Plaza Trier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Trier
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Chardon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and good accommodations”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A little higher priced but the tradeoff is the incredible location and very well-maintained and comfortable accommodations. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for exploring the city of Trier (which can easily fill a full day between all of the historical sites there are to see - all within walking distance of this hotel). I have stayed here several times over the past eight years and the quality has not wavered. Nice, clean rooms that can fit three comfortably, if necessary. Friendly staff. Parking is extra in a garage underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Aleister, thank you for your time to make your evaluation. Praise from our guests is wonderfully motivating and shows us that we are on the right track. We are very happy to hear that you always enjoyed the stay in our house and that we were able to convince you of our high quality standard. We are looking forward to welcome you the next eight years. Hope to see you soon! Best regards, Florian Jammer. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    334
    65
    15
    15
See reviews for
82
339
32
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very nice hotel if you don't mind spending a little more money for it's great location. Visited in December and the hotel location was conveniently located near the Christmas Market and all of the big sites in the city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YouAreHere_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your evaluation and the praise. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Trier and that you felt comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you another time. See you soon! Best regards, Florian Jammer. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Took South African visiting Mom & Portuguese Hubby to Trier for the weekend - with the main reason of visiting their infamous Christmas markets!

We arrived mid-day on Saturday (weekend before Christmas) only to find that the parking garage directly next door to the hotel was FULL... we sat in a queue into the parking lot for half an hour before Hubby went to chat with the hotel reception on alternative parking arrangements.

The front desk gentleman (Christoph) firstly told him that it was *tough* and that we would just have to sit it out to get a parking space. But about 5min later, Mom chatted to one of the female reception ladies who told us that we could park directly in front of the hotel for a few hours and then move our car into the garage at 7pm when it would have more space readily available. She kindly made us a sign for the front wind screen and we were now ready to check in.

This time - I got to deal with Christoph and he was wonderfully friendly, helpful and efficient with our 2room check in process (even though it was before check in time - our rooms were available)

The rooms were comfortable, clean and more than sufficient. The bath/shower combo worked well and the complimentary bath products were lovely.
There is absolutely nothing bad to say about the rooms!
(Our hotel room neighbours however were an Australian family with 2 VERY small children who thought that the corridor was a playground - running/screaming and shouting at each other mid afternoon and unfortunately woke us up at 6am crying... this is something that can happen anywhere... so no fault of the hotel)

We didn't stay for breakfast - but rather made use of the fact that the Christmas markets are just around the corner - perfectly located and very little walking required.
We also had dinner at a nearby restaurant (Ratskeller) that one of the hotel receptionists recommended and there are not enough words to describe how wonderful this restaurant was! Friendly service (english speaking), AMAZING food and fabulous ambiance (underground, vaulted ceilings, etc)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for kind evaluation and the praise. Each guest’s experience is truly important to us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Trier and that you were satisfied with our service. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Florian Jammer. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Much of this cute town is walking streets, this hotel is where the walking starts, hard to imagine you could get closer. Nice room. Friendly staff. Direct access from parking lot (parking is extra). Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your evaluation and the compliments! We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay in our house and that you enjoyed the city! We are looking forward to welcome you another time. Hope to see you soon! Best regards, Florian Jammer. Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Staid for 2 nights on business. Nice convenient hotel very close to the main points of interest. Public areas are pleasant as well as the restaurant. Accommodation floors feel a bit "mouldy"' ie there is an unpleasant smell in the corridor. Rooms would need a change of the carpet, or even better a replacement with wooden floor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalkanEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your time to make your evaluation for the Park Plaza Trier. We affirm you that each guest’s experience is truly important to us. We're very sorry that we didn’t meet your requirements. You should know, that we renovate the hotel continuously to observe our high quality standard. Therefore the situation is much to our regret. All corridors and hotel rooms have been equipped with new carpets, new pillows and blankets last year. And that’s why we’re very sorry about the unpleasant smell. You can be sure that we’ll discuss that issue with housekeeping to avoid unpleasant smells in the future. We hope we’re able to convince you the next time of our high quality standard. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a good choice we made. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre, walking distance of every historic place to see in Trier. It also has a huge garage underneath where we could park easily our rental car to roam around Trier.

The rooms are very comfortable, large for European standard, the hotel seems brand new. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good, we could eat at their inner court terrasse up to 10pm.

Not much chance I will be back in Trier but if I had to I would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Leiter Front Office at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for such a friendly evaluation. We are very happy to see, that you enjoyed the stay in our house. We hope to see you soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from three nights in Trier Germany where we stayed at the Trier Park Plaza. We rented a suite because we wanted space and got #306 which was wonderful. The bed was comfy and very large. The free WIFI was terrific even when both of us were on our devices. If you are hungry, the breakfast is a bargain--meats, cheeses, smoked salmon, etc. It is not worth it if you are just a coffee and a yogurt type. We had very light lunches because of the large breakfasts. The different people at the front desk were all friendly, helpful and fluent in English. We focused our visit on the Roman baths and museum which is in the southern part of Trier so we found the hotel quite central. We both highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite...we loved #306, a corner suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJammer, Leiter Front Office at Park Plaza Trier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your evaluation and the compliments. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay in Trier and we are looking forward to welcome you another time. We hope to see you soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#8 of 49 in Trier
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Trier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Trier

Property: Park Plaza Trier
Address: Nikolaus-Koch-Platz 1, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trier
#2 Business Hotel in Trier
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#6 Family Hotel in Trier
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Plaza Trier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the city centre of Trier not far from Porta Nigra, the Cathedral and the Moselle, the 4-Star Superior Hotel Park Plaza Trier is perfect for your meeting or city trip to Trier - the oldest city in Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Trier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Trier Hotel Trier
Trier Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing