We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, simple, nicely located hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Altstadt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, simple, nicely located hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a nice, basic, hotel. I stayed in a one person room that was small, but not unreasonably so for one person. Importantly, it was clean and situated perfectly right at the Porta Nigra and all of the old town walking area. It also had secured parking available down the street. It isn't going to knock your socks off or anything, but I thought it was totally reasonable for the price (about 80 euros for one night) that I paid.

My room had a nice view of the Trier cathedral.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
20
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Room was reasonably large, beds great, odorless and spotless, safe free off street parking, free fast internet, helpful staff, EXCELLENT breakfast. Had a room on the sidestreet which was very quiet. Virtually around the corner from the Porta Nigra and pedestrian only zone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDave_at_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We arrived in Trier late in the afternoon without having made any reservations and ended by chance up at the Altstadt Hotel. We stayed for one night, and this hotel proved adequate for our purpose. The location was good, close to Porte Nigra. The rooms - and the hotel - was a bit "old style", but the rooms were both clean and spacious. As we were driving south to France and had a lot of luggage in the car, secure parking was important, and Altstadt Hotel had a secluded closed parking close to the hotel. The hotel staff were pleasant, but the breakfast was somewhat meager and disappointing. The whole bar and dining area was very quiet. For a stop-over and a quick glance at Trier, this hotel "did the trick" for us, but supplied othervise nothing memorable. All in all a hotel which perhaps is a bit above "average", but still not deserving a "very good" classification.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

+:
Location
Parking
-:
Service -below zero-staff not friendly-nor professional :(
Accomodation/rooms-old-style 1970's...
Breakfast-poor-no choice-unfriendly staff
Reception-unprofessional - unfriendly staff
Lift: slow

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trier hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I recently stayed here for a night with my parents. It was easy to find, had a dedicated parking lot a couple minutes walk from the hotel, nice rooms (with gummy bears on the pillows- a nice touch) and the best breakfast of our entire trip. It is only about a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral, so my mom was able to walk there without too much difficulty. The only thing that I found bad (and this is really nitpicking) is that the elevators were always full and slow and had an inefficient way of choosing what floor it would go to next. One thing that was utterly charming is that the cathedral is close enough that when the bells peal, they ring through the windows, if you open them.

If, like me, you are travelling with parents with mobility issues, this is a pretty good choice. The lobby/breakfast area is not all on the same level (a step separates them) but there is an elevator there if you need it and access to the front and side doors can be reached with elevators as well.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all of them had different views- one overlooked the Porta Nigra, one saw to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The room was hot with no aircon & tired / worn furniture. And with no fire alarm detector or sounder in the room, felt unsafe.

The mattress was comfy, but the low bed head lights (mind your head!) had only 1 switch (on my side) for the two lights, so either both of us were reading or neither! Also there are no drawers anywhere in the room, for storage. Although there was a useless bedside radio, the mini fridge did work.

Cleanliness was poor. The room had nutshells on the floor for over 2 days and the sink had toothpaste on the tap spout 3 days! Small thin towels were changed daily but were poor quality. No toiletries were provided only a "squeezie' universal body/hair wash fitted over the sink & in the shower. But a hairdryer was available on request?

We will come back to Trier, just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevorinbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

A very comfortable slightly old-fashioned hotel which suited our group of 8 (4 twin rooms) very well. Excellent location right next to Porta Nigra and an easy walk from the station. Our own room was very spacious on the corner of the building with a side view of the Porta Nigra and a good-sized bathroom. Right at the start of the pedestrian area : 5-10 mins walk to the Dom (we were there for the Holy Robe pilgrimage). The reception staff seemed a little stressed but were polite and friendly. Excellent breakfast (though on our first morning a departing tour group used up most of the hot water and overcrowded the breakfast room - day 2 was much more relaxed!) Hope to return again maybe for the Christmas Market.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkb194805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
0.0 mi away
Zum Christophel Hotel-Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Romischer Kaiser
Romischer Kaiser
#34 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#31 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aulmann
Hotel Aulmann
#14 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Casa Chiara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel

Property: Altstadt Hotel
Address: Am Porta-Nigra-Platz, 54290 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing