We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    96
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
124
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A bit more memorable than the run-of-the-mill Novotels etc. we stayed at on our European Road Trip. The setting overlooking Trier is simply awesome. The view compelled us to have drinks before AND after our visit into the City to see the sights and have dinner. The €5/person breakfast was well worth it. The room was well appointed and had a grand-old-house feeling, not like an ordinary hotel. Parking was plentiful and free. We very much enjoyed Trier and this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here for just one night while we were travelling, because we wanted to visit Trier. The best thing about the hotel is the view from the terrace over the city, and the dinner was good. But the room was fairly basic and it was very hot and stuffy, although the bathroom was spacious. But the service was less than satisfactory: at reception the welcome was rather peremptory, the waiter literally threw a menu down on the table, and in the morning someone barged in wanting to add some extras for the next guests: tissues, laundry bag, etc., which would have been all right were it not for the fact that I was standing there in my underwear wondering what on earth was going on! Decidedly Faulty Towers! Reasonable value for the price but don't expect anything special.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are rather noisy in the morning when other guests leave the car park. Probably bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a family reunion this July 2012 at the Berghotel Kockelsberg. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. The staff made our reunion a wonderful experience. Erika was the key. It is not easy when you have almost 40 people and children, but she was able to fulfill every wish and went above and beyond to see that everyone was happy. She is the true meaning of hospitality. The wait staff Thomas and Rainer served our food (which was always hot) and also very delicious and our drinks with friendliness and smiles. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The view from the terrace down to Trier cannot be explained it is something you absolutely have to see for yourself. I strongly advise you come and see for yourself.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I arranged a family reunion from the US to stay at this hotel at the end of July 2012 for a week. There were 37 people in total, 5 kids ages 5-16 -- some from the US and some from Germany. The hotel itself and the rooms were always clean, the view of Trier from the restaurant and outside terrace is gorgeous. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with lots to choose from and the meals (soup/salad, dinner, dessert) were always delicious. We had a wide range of rooms from the single and vacation apts to the double and junior suite in the main house. We had the junior suite which was very spacious. Erika, Erika's husband, Thomas, and Rainer were beyond fantastic. One of them always greeted us outside upon our return from the days excursion. Thomas and Rainer were constantly running back and forth getting drinks. They were fast, efficient and always had a smile. Erika is the key to this hotel. She is friendly, efficient, and accommodating. She always made sure what they served for dinner was something the kids would eat. When she realized the kids didn't like the adult desserts she got them ice cream every night. Most of all, when my nephew had to go to the hospital, she called the hospital to get an update and also used her personal cell phone to call my brothers cell which was a US number. There isn't enough room to list how great the staff and hotel is. Our entire family had a wonderful time and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 for one night. We had a reservation for the lowest category of rooms, and you definitely don't get more than you pay for. A room in the rooftop of a house in the backyard, two single beds, a small window, and a very small bathroom. However for the price, I suppose it was okay. Unfortunately the bathroom smelled of urine. I reckon that higher categories of rooms are of a better quality.

We had a four course dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The food was ok but really nothing incredible, the portions very big and service really good. There's a nice view of Trier from the restaurant. Reception staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tveste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here at the end of May for 1 night. Because we needed to drive into Trier we decided to have our evening meal + wine at the hotel after touring the city. The menu & meal was 1st class with fabulous views over Trier from the balcony. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
787 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Kockelsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Kockelsberg

Property: Berghotel Kockelsberg
Address: Kockelsberg 1, 54293 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Trier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trier
#10 Family Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berghotel Kockelsberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berghotel Kockelsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Kockelsberg Trier
Berghotel Kockelsberg Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing