We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment in hotel, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
454 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice apartment in hotel, beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is located on a hilltop overlooking Trier. It's very beautiful--and the view goes throughout the entire restaurant/dining area. We booked an apartment which was nice--the access point was pretty to look at but the apartment was spacious, very clean and had a lovely view out the master bedroom windows. It had a rain shower (very nice) and a large updated bathroom. There is a small swingset there (nice for the kiddos) and plenty of hiking trails leaving right from the hotel grounds. We did have to drive to get to downtown Trier--but it wasn't a long walk at all. The breakfast was a huge choice of different types of foods and really catered to everyone. It was excellent quality food too. One night we ate at the restaurant and our meal was terrific, but we weren't too hungry so we only got one entree--hard to judge and entire restaurant on only one item. The only real negative (and why we gave it 4 stars) was because we did not have wifi in the apartment, and with the way we travel (we are typically unprepared)--wifi is a must.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #18, which is a two bedroom apartment. It's very spacious but on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    94
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
123
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Just stayed for two nights while on holiday in Germany. The location is good, on a hill outside the city. It is quiet but if you want to club it is a way to drive after the party.

The room was adequate. The size was great but the bathroom lacked and space. Shower was so small I could barely fit. W-Fi was intermittent even with the provided password.

Te website is a bit deceiving. There isa great patio from which one can watch the city while drinking beer or wine, or having dinner. The "city view" rooms mean there is a window one can look out at the city... No balcony.

Breakfast was good with a good selection of meats and cheeses, fruit, boiled eggs, scrambled egs with bacon and sausage.

Restaurant was good with a good view.

We would choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB9MNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a fantastic time at Berghotel Kockelsberg, which is an old villa perched on top of a mountain overlooking Trier. Beautiful rooms, a cozy and friendly feeling, wonderful staff & service, and a delicious restaurant make this a must-stay. The rooms are lovely with large windows (get one with a city view if possible) and the beds are generous and comfortable. Super clean and with free wifi and tv, or relax and take in the view over the city. We also LOVED the restaurant, it had exceptional food and the waiter was incredibly friendly. The view from the restaurant was lovely, at night you can see all the city lights and the cathedral lit up. Absolutely wonderful, and the staff made the stay even better. They even reserved us a romantic table for dinner when we mentioned we would be heading down shortly. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Trier, it was a special part of our trip! Vielen Dank! :) PS. They have free parking, a lovely bonus!

Room Tip: Get a city view room, it's totally worth the extra 10-20 euros!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

High on a hill overlooking the oldest city in Germany. This hotel is an experience that should not be missed.
Located at the end of its own 1/2 mile or so drive this hotel is quite, clean, modern with a great place to eat or hang out while enjoying the view over Trier from its restaurant.
The food was excellent, both for regular meals and the one of the best breakfast spreads I have seen in Europe. I stayed here just before Christmas and the hotel was decked out for the season. The large decorated tree was a heart warming sight which just added to the feeling of being welcomed. The Great staff added to the pleasure of staying here. For some it may be a little hard to find, although it does have good signage from the main road. The only negative thing I have to say is that the WIFI is weak in some areas, but you are welcomed plug in your computer in the restaurant or use the computer the hotel has in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlook the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeontheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

It is a beautiful hotel. So close to the city and yet situated in an oasis of tranquility.
The breakfast is extensive. Ideally situated for forest walks and also for visiting Trier.
The car parks in Trier are not expensive.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra and book a room with panoramic view over Trier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was one of our best value stays in Germany. We had the best service and food here. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. For dinner, you really do need to make reservations to get a table by the window, and you do really want to sit by the window. The view is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotonPepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
2.5 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Kockelsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Kockelsberg

Property: Berghotel Kockelsberg
Address: Kockelsberg 1, 54293 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trier
#10 Family Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berghotel Kockelsberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Berghotel Kockelsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Kockelsberg Trier
Berghotel Kockelsberg Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing