We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Uneven”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an unusual place. Its main feature is a very large, well-fitted restaurant, including a large terrace with a tremendous view of the city. Apart from a small entrance foyer, there are no other public areas. Our room was OK but the level of furnishings and decoration was not first rate. Spare furniture was stored in the stairwell leading to the rooms. The restaurant had good professional service but that wasn’t matched by the quality of the food, although breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of one guy on reception, who was neither. The hotel was quiet. Overall, rather mixed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    96
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
45
124
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great hotel, desk staff were welcoming and warm. Wait staff at the restaurant (some of the best food we ate our whole time in Germany) were quick witted and accommodating. And the best part - the VIEW!! Overlooking the whole Mosel valley and the city of Trier down the hill from the hotel is mesmerizing and worth the drive, but the lovely rye fields on the other side are also breathtaking in their own way. Lots of paths to walk or jog radiate out from the hotel. the room was clean and spacious and quiet. Really a steal for the price, it's one of my favorite hotels ever.

Room Tip: the main building is nice, the best wifi is in the hall, there are nice armchairs to sit on the land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennconsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This is the real deal with a win in every category. Firstly the staff, enough cannot be said about their attention to every detail. Even when it came to helping translate with my German family they went beyond the call, resulting us having a very successful reunion. The view from the terrace, their food and the entire stay was wonderful. Thank you Erika for all of your help - we will never forget your kindness.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rykee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel has the best combination of location, room quality, and onsite restaurant; albeit in the stereotypical, traditional German sense. Located on a hill on the west side of Trier, the view from the dining terrace is very nice. The view from our room in the main building was nothing to "write home" about (view of parking lot), but for one night, it was not an issue. Our room was on the lower level of the main building; steps only. Dimly lit, energy-saving, hallway (can manually turn on light switches that automatically turn off). Room for two was small for American standards; however, we felt it was quite adequate for one night. Room also included two chairs and a small coffee table. TV mounted on the wall. The in-room bathroom is very small; shower, sink, and toilet in tight quarters. Bring your own soap; not included in bathroom. Bed comfort was very good; window tilts in for nice night time airflow. Ample outlets to charge phones, tablets etc. Very quiet despite seemingly full hotel. Onsite restaurant dinner food quality and service was very good. The breakfast buffet (for an additional 5 euros per person) was outstanding and definitely of high value. It was very extensive and very German; broetchen (rolls), meats, cheese, jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, great coffee, plus a lot more. Decor is somewhat dated and very traditional, but has a charm to it. Highly recommend for one night or extended stays. At 59 euros for one night, we found this to be a nice value. Makes for a nice base to explore the area; many hiking and biking trails as well as sightseeing in the greater Trier/Moselle River area.

Room Tip: If view is important, let them know ahead of time. The breakfast is extra at 5euros per person; I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyckoff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here for a family reunion. Erica at the front desk went out of her way to help us connect with my husband's uncle by helping to translate over the phone, and arrange meetings.
The hotel is lovely with incredible views and the restaurant was very good also

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jodithgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This a great hotel for a romantic getaway or a for those keen on rambling. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is superb and to have dinner out on the terrace watching Trier and the Mosel valley in the twilight is an experience I will not forget.
We had a large room on the front of the building which meant that we couldn't wake up to that stunning view in the morning, but no matter - the room was large, comfortable and very, very quiet. All in all, this is a place we shall return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Trier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BournvilleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this gem of a hotel on our final night in the Rhein Valley. The hotel's location is perfect for travelers seeking serenity and views. The hotel is directly next to a forest which beckoned us to walk through it upon arrival - what a wonderful way to end a busy day.

Our room was large and comfortable with a beautiful view from the bed over the city of Trier below. We had dinner on the deck overlooking the view. The service was outstanding, which made up for the food that was of average quality. It may have been that we selected wrong as the dishes served to other guests looked delicious. Breakfast did not disappoint however and the combination of a warm and homely atmosphere, perfect location and beautiful views ensured that we will definitely be back on our next trip.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelHannalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Deutscher Hof
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#4 of 49 in Trier
398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Kockelsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Kockelsberg

Property: Berghotel Kockelsberg
Address: Kockelsberg 1, 54293 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Trier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trier
#10 Family Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berghotel Kockelsberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berghotel Kockelsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Kockelsberg Trier
Berghotel Kockelsberg Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing