We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small scoops, nothing out of the ordinary”

Christis - Eis & Kaffee
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: - Home made icecream without any such things as colourants, artificial flavours, or flavour enhancer - when high season: strawberry icecream made from fresh fruits, icecream out of flours of the elderbush, and other specialties - illycaffe - homemade waffles, crepes
Restaurant details
Description: - Home made icecream without any such things as colourants, artificial flavours, or flavour enhancer - when high season: strawberry icecream made from fresh fruits, icecream out of flours of the elderbush, and other specialties - illycaffe - homemade waffles, crepes
bossier city
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small scoops, nothing out of the ordinary”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Gelato is nothing extraordinary, wouldn't go back. Small portions and flavors are ok. The fruit flavors are either too sweet or icy, and I'm an American, where everything is sweet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Inhaber at Christis - Eis & Kaffee, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Grace
Thanks for your review. Sorry that we have not met your expectations. Well, by being a member of TripAdvisor we provoke such reviews. Regarding taste: Trier is an ancient roman town, and as Romans have put it: “De gustibus non est disputandum.” (i.e. There is no dispute about taste.). Interestingly, almost all of our customers tell us that there is one important difference between our ice-cream and that of other icemakers: It is less sweet. Regarding size of portions: Have you told the waitress or the person at the counter? We could have been able to react, e.g. by giving you a refill. Maybe we will have another chance should you ever come back to Trier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Absolutely brilliant place in a great location!

The only problem with their menu was that there were too many great options to choose from!

Friendly staff, and reasonably priced too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Inhaber at Christis - Eis & Kaffee, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for this fantastic review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredibly, Wonderful Ice Cream!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's more than an ice cream shop, as they also offer specialty coffees, etc...But, their ice cream is just "excellent"!!! Great service!!! Good location, with a partial view of the Cathedral. The atmosphere is lively and happy, but then again most everyone is there for ice cream, which always makes people happy. We went there every night for our evening dessert, during our week long stay. Wish we had an ice cream shop like this one back home :-)

Highly recommend if you are Trier...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePowerofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christis - Eis & Kaffee also viewed

Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Christis - Eis & Kaffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing