We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from city centre”
Review of Hotel Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Clean hotel. Not englih- speaking lady in front desk.
Modern' cleaning room in an old building
Our GPS couldn't find the adress.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zur Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

friendly hotel at a little busy road.
Nice "biergarten", good german breakfast, clean rooms, good restaurant (restaurant and hotel have seperated owners).
wifi in the lobby.
we played golf in Trier, Bitburg and Lietzenhof.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michiel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Group of 3 friends spent 1 night in a triple room. Room was average size, three single beds. Staff was initially unfriendly at check-in. Room was unlocked and it appeared that they forgot to finish cleaning-- the bathroom was dirty, with a giant pile of wet towels in the sink and mold in the shower. Beds were made but rumpled as if someone had been sitting on them. We contacted reception and a gentleman (owner?) immediately came up, cleaned the sink and gave us fresh towels, but by then we already had a dirty vibe from the room. It was probably fine, but the dirty bathroom turned us all off, and made the rest of the room also feel dirty. Breakfast was adequate, typical German, with meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurt, etc. Location was not ideal-- it is outside of the city center, which we expected, but the website makes it sound like it is in an idyllic location on the river. It is not. It is in the Gewerbegebiet (commercial area-- think auto dealerships), which is dark and seems somewhat desolate in the evening (although with quite a bit of traffic on the road). We never did see the river from anywhere near the hotel. Parking was on-street in front of the hotel if you can find it. We got one of the last spaces, and I'm not sure where we would have parked if it had been full, staff only offered the street as an option. Room rate was reasonable, and credit cards were accepted. Overall we were not pleased with our stay and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrywidow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We traveled by car so the distance to town was not a problem. The hotel is on a busy road if your room faces the road you will hear the noise. We booked a single and a double but were given 2 doubles on the same floor. Good size room and large clean bathroom. Our dinner was good and the inexpensive room rate included a nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cassandraBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

A group of us stayed in this hotel for the first time to sample the delights of the Trier Weinachtsmarkt (Christmas Market). We received a warm welcome. The rooms were an excellent standard and the bathroom was fantastic. There were even cupboards outside the door which provided extra bedding if you needed it!

You need to get a bus into the town centre but they run every 30 mins and the stop is right outside the hotel. This is the reason the rates are so good but if you are prepared for this small inconvenience, we would heartily recommend this hotel. The hotel also does evening meals and has a bar and they provide a reasonable buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers achteraan zijn rustiger, geen straatlawaai.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jakob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
1.9 mi away
FourSide Plaza Hotel Trier
3.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
3.8 mi away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
821 reviews
3.6 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Post

Address: Ruwerer Str. 18, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing