We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an historic setting”
Review of Klosterschenke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Klosterschenke
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Reviewed 16 May 2007

We had 2 single rooms and stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms were of a decent size and had high ceilings. The beds were comfortable and there was adequate storage space in the rooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke quite good English.

The quality of the food at breakfast was good, with a range of different breads, cold meats, cheeses as well as muesli, fruit salad and boiled eggs. We ate our evening meal on 3 out of the 4 nights at Klosterschenke. The food was excellent and on our first night we ate outside on the terrace overlooking the river. Unfortunately, the weather meant that we had to eat inside on the other evenings.

The single rooms were €55 per night bed & breakfast – which I thought was good value for money. Evening meal for 2 – you would be looking to spend around €45 to €55 in total.

There was a slight confusion over the booking however it was quickly sorted out. I agree with virtually all of the reviews of this hotel – except about the traffic noise. There is a motorway on the other side of the river, but even with your window wide open the noise is barely audible.

The hotel is difficult is to find – so make sure that you have a detailed map before setting out.

All in all I am really pleased that we stayed at Klosterschenke.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChrisTheSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2006

After reading the one and only post for this site I was determined to locate it. What could be more intriguing than staying in a 12th century convent? While it was slow communicating through email perhaps due to language barrier, we were assured a room was reserved for us. I used yahoo maps to locate the inn (it was amazingly accurate for the tangle of roads you wind through to find the hotel!) and getting there was half the fun because of the quaint little area it is located in. There is a lovely courtyard strung with lights to have dinner at night and a cozy breakfast nook for the mornings. The rooms are basic but very clean with down comforters and the bathroom was tiny but newly remodeled. If you like atmosphere, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gr82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2006

Stayed here for one night. We had a room overlooking the river and it is not as quiet as previous reviewers state. The road on the other side of the river is extreemly busy and traffic noise can be heard if you have your windows open on a hot summers evening. Rooms on the other side would be much quieter.

Room was clean and spacious although a little dated with the flowery wall-paper. There was quite a step up to get into the shower unit which older people would have to watch out for. Bed was very comfortable, and we had a good reception on the television in the room.

The evening meal here was very good, and the breakfast was adequate. The hotel has character as it has been tastefully converted, retaining some of the original Kloister features. It takes about 10 - 15 minutes to drive into Trier. Price of this hotel is cheaper than staying in some of the Trier hotels and worth considering.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bofcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
BOULDER, COLORADO
14
Reviewed 26 May 2006

My husband and I (middle-aged Americans) spent three nights at the Klosterschenke. It is a wonderful hotel--very welcoming--and the staff speaks excellent English. The hotel has been very tastefully converted from an old monastery. It has been family-run by the same family for four generations. Our room was quite large and overlooked the Mosel River.

We ate dinner in the hotel the first night we were there. The food was so extraordinary that we made a point of returning to the hotel for dinner every night of our stay. It was simply the best food we had during our three weeks in Europe (including stays in Paris, Amsterdam, Cologne, and Brugges). Wonderful, delicate sauces.

We recommend this hotel very highly for anyone looking for a quiet get-away or for a relaxing break during a long European vacation.

By car, about 10 minutes from old town Trier; about 40 minutes from the city of Luxembourg. A hike/bike path along the Mosel runs right behind the hotel. The hotel can be a little tricky to find, but it is definitely worth the effort.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2005

Schenke means "pub" and Kloster is where nuns live. Go figure...

We were totally lost in a little town across the river from Trier, Germany's oldest city. It was getting late and we needed to find a hotel. We were going down little winding roads no wider than our very tiny car and we turned a corner and saw the courtyard, the church steeple and the sign "Gasthaus".

This hotel is a converted cloister on the banks of the Mosel River. It was converted into a pub back in the early 1900's by the great-grandfather of the current owner who ran a small ferry from Trier to bring guests to and from the city. It has a few rooms for overnight guests, all of various sizes, with creaky wooden floors and bathrooms that look out over the river. The rooms are filled with period furniture, have telephones and cable TV. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are VERY quiet because there is no road between your room and the river (and the walls are over 3' thick stone).

The dining room (with a grand piano) is downstairs and the meals are good hearty local fare.

Breakfasts were simple and quiet.

The hotel is only accessible by car, and there is plenty of parking in the courtyard. This hotel is difficult to find. I doubt that I could ever find it again, much less describe how to get there. It is however one of those magical places that you come across once on a trip, and you wonder after you leave the next day if it every existed in the first place.

8  Thank Rick_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Huegel
Hotel Villa Huegel
#1 of 49 in Trier
539 reviews
3.1 mi away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
606 reviews
3.1 mi away
Berghotel Kockelsberg
Berghotel Kockelsberg
#12 of 49 in Trier
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Trier Porta Nigra
4.7 mi away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
233 reviews
3 mi away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klosterschenke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klosterschenke

Address: Klosterstrasse 10, 54293 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Price Range: £55 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Klosterschenke 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Klosterschenke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterschenke Hotel Trier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing